Nightwish Dark Passion Play
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
cSsteFa
October 1st 2007



47 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

How you can say NW sounds like a WT clone is beyond me.

Poet
October 1st 2007



5920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"So yeah.



Saying he doesn't rate this anywhere near perfect, only three songs really stand out to him, yet he's given it a 4.5, is a bit silly in my honest and humble opinion."


Just because I said that those three songs make the whole album worthwhile, doesn't mean that those are the ONLY THREE SONGS that I like. Oh, and you wouldn't know because you didn't read my review of the album did you? No, you said it would be a waste of your time.



Kiran
Emeritus
October 1st 2007



6000 Comments


FYI - To quote easier, just type [quote] and then [/quote ] but with no space.

You're right. I didn't read your review. Maybe I took what you said wrongly. From what I read in your comment, it sounded like you based your rating off the three songs.

From an objective perspective, let's look at a scenario. There are three reviews. Two are good and one is just ok. Someone who doesn't know anything about the album will want to know what the album is all about, as this is a review site afterall. Who's review do I choose to read? Well, I'll choose one good and one bad one for each perspective's sake. Now then, when looking for a non-biased approach, who do I choose...the one written by someone named after a song in the album, or the other?

I can't believe I just explained myself.This Message Edited On 10.01.07

Digging: Spoon - They Want My Soul

kalkal50
October 1st 2007



2386 Comments


If only 3 songs make an album worthwhile, then the album is nowhere near an essential rating. Every song has to uniquely comprise the pwnage of an album.

And to PoetandthePendulum, you're obviously biased, and your name will always remind us of that.This Message Edited On 10.01.07

Poet
October 1st 2007



5920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

LMAO....I've had this name even before the Poet and the Pendulum was even leaked. The reason I started the account with this name is because I like Nightwish, and I just wanted to name myself after a song, and this just happened to be the song I heard about the day I made this account.

So don't go judging my review and opinions based on my name before you say something about it. If I was biased...I would have easily given this a 5....and not be critical of the album at all.. WHICH IF YOU READ MY REVIEW....I DO BAG ON SOME OF THE SONGS!!

Altmer
October 1st 2007



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

uh this album is awesome throughout and I am never reminded of WT S_F :s

Wizard
October 1st 2007



19240 Comments


Good review. I could never see why these guys (and girl) were so special. I won't be checking this out.

Digging: Cloak of Altering - Plague Beasts

Shattered_Future
October 1st 2007



1539 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Altmer, you can't tell me 7 Days To The Wolves sounds like it's ripped straight off of The Silent Force. You're just fucking deaf if you think it doesn't.

ZapatoDiablo
October 2nd 2007



167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Tarja always scared me a little for some reason. I sorta like Anette she has almost a "cute" little voice. I listen to Nightwish for Tuomas' compositions and the melodies, though, which so far I am not wholly in love with on this album.

Pebster49
October 3rd 2007



2991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

From what I hve listened to this might be there best. Even tho I was never much of a Nightwish fan

Altmer
October 3rd 2007



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really don't think it does, and I've listened to TSF about 20 times.

Det_Nosnip
October 4th 2007



374 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well, have you listened to latter day WT before?

Altmer
October 4th 2007



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No, as THOE absolutely disgusts me...I've listened to it once or twice but couldn't take any more.This Message Edited On 10.04.07

Shattered_Future
October 4th 2007



1539 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

THOE is better than TSF. I think TSF is one of the worst albums of all time.

Regardless, a lot of their influence still comes across here.

when_darkness_falls
October 6th 2007



107 Comments


i really like this album. I know you may all laugh at me when you all don't think it is great but I'm not bummed. I can listen to this and enjoy it regardless of Anette's voice or anything else. I think it's a marvellous return and although it was it's low points it's generally OK. Cadence of her Last Breath may sound like Evanescence, but I blinkin' love it anyway! Catchy stuff, and just a new direction. I'll give Anette a chance yet.

when_darkness_falls
October 6th 2007



107 Comments


i really like this album. I know you may all laugh at me when you all don't think it is great but I'm not bummed. I can listen to this and enjoy it regardless of Anette's voice or anything else. I think it's a marvellous return and although it was it's low points it's generally OK. Cadence of her Last Breath may sound like Evanescence, but I blinkin' love it anyway! Catchy stuff, and just a new direction. I'll give Anette a chance yet.

BallsToTheWall
October 6th 2007



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Baa.. Im not impressed with what i've heard off of here. Musically sound from what i've heard, I just cant get used to Annete's vocals.

Ayashi
October 11th 2007



267 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pretty sweet comeback, 4 stars! There are one or two songs that dont quite "work", but nice work otherwise

BludgeonySteve
October 13th 2007



558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

What?!

(directed at the review)

south_of_heaven 11
October 14th 2007



5433 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is so fucking boring.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy