Amorphis Silent Waters
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jim
December 6th 2007


5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i think i like this more than elegy

Wizard
December 17th 2007


19407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I just picked this album up tonight at Music World for $10 (I fucking love it when music stores go out of business). I'm glad I didn't buy this at full price because this album is moderately good. I wouldn't consider this classic ever. Its still a nice listen.

Digging: Khonsu - Traveller

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 17th 2007


16395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still a solid 5 from me.

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

blackened07
December 17th 2007


949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It was a 5 for me but I had to take it down to a 4.5.

Wizard
December 17th 2007


19407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm really trying to see what you love in this album. The melodies are good, but nothing original and the rhythm tends to drag a bit. The vocals are quite well done, and some of the leads are memorable. But thats all I'm seeing so far.

blackened07
December 17th 2007


949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There is just something about it I love, I haven't even quite figured out what it is yet.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 17th 2007


16395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love the whole far away epic-ness of this album. The vocals, guitars, keyboards, everything just clicks.

Wizard
December 17th 2007


19407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Shaman is definitely a standout track, espesically at the 3:00 min. mark when the folky bridge plays. But now that you described it like that Crysis, I can see why this would appeal to you alot (judging by your music tastes). Its going to stick as a 3 for me for the time being. This is probably my 15th time I've listened to this straight through. By the ways, have you ever heard Tuonela by these guys. I know its not a fan favourite, but its still a descent album to listen to. It has alot of echoey guitars in it that I found appealing. This Message Edited On 12.17.07

blackened07
December 17th 2007


949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Maybe its the epic-ness that makes me like this cd.

AngelPhoenix
January 6th 2008


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just sampled the songs from this and from Thousand lakes. Heard of these guys before, but passed them over. What a mistake. At least I'm with it now...these guys are for real...

Thor
January 19th 2008


10192 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No way in hell I could give this a 5, but man is it fun.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2008


16395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still sticking with the 5... there is something special about this one.

Thor
January 19th 2008


10192 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

These guys just make me think of Ensiferum having sex with Opeth, but leaving something amazing behind.

rasputin
January 19th 2008


14544 Comments


It's not quite a 5, but bloody close.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 19th 2008


16395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's funny because this band has been around longer than both Opeth and Ensiferum. This is easily Amorphis' best since "Tales From The Thousand Lakes"

Wizard
January 19th 2008


19407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hahahaha I recently pulled out Tuonela from thse guys and gave it a solid listen. I love the guitar effects in that album. Not really heavy though.

Essence
January 19th 2008


3585 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Anyone else think the guy from Primordial sounds a lot like the frontman of this band?

Zoo
January 19th 2008


3759 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Too bad Amorphis doesn't still have Pasi but Tomi fills in for him quite well.

jrowa001
January 28th 2008


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this album has grown on me

Jim
January 28th 2008


5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

it's very consistent i find



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy