Amorphis Silent Waters
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
EyesWideShut
September 23rd 2007



3096 Comments


I've been looking to get into Amorphis for some time but I am unsure what kind of music they play. Are they like some power symphonic metal. Or a melo- death band like Opeth?? I think I keep getting this band confused with another.

MeowMeow
September 23rd 2007



662 Comments


But I don't know, I don't seem to like this music, usually.

That's what I thought when reading the review, but listening to the album, I actually really like it.

Blurry
September 24th 2007



96 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is an improvement on Eclipse. I'm finding myself growing used to Joutsen's voice (whcih I hated at first). Not bad at all.

@ Hostile101 - The thing with Amorphis is that they've changed style a lot over the years. On their demos, they were a full-tilt evil death metal band. From there they evolved into a proggy death metal band (The Karelian Isthmus, Tales from the Thousand Lakes - kind of like Opeth, who are NOT melodic death), then into more of a prog/classic rock band (Elegy, which still has about 50% death vocals; Tuonela and Am Universum which has very few. The sound is kind of like, Pink Floyd meets Sabbath meets European folk music).

From there they morphed into a straight forward rock band (Far from the Sun, which is just a stripped back version of the previous sound), and finally into a rock band with prog & harsher metallic leanings (Eclipse & Silent Waters, which throw elements of all of the above into a blender).

Shattered_Future
September 24th 2007



1539 Comments


Not a 5. Amorphis's best album for sure, but not a 5, and not album of the year either. Good review though...my copy appears to be messed up with the tracks. Then again, I have had this album since...somewhere towards the beginning of the summer. I should go out and get this soon.

Pebster49
September 24th 2007



2991 Comments


I have this listened to a few songs...but then got distracted cause BTBAM's new album is so amazing...

freudianslipknot
September 24th 2007



803 Comments


OK, I have to get this. Great review. I have elegy and tales and I love them both - in fact, elegy is one of my favourite albums. I have to admit that I like what you said about the songs flowing into each other. I like albums to hold together as a unit. I was in two minds, but now I will definitely pick this up. Oh yeah, and that artwork has to be the best I have ever seen. Very moving.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 24th 2007



16258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is like a mix of melodic death metal, doom, and progressive. It's hard to explain, but I'm sure any fan of the albums I mentioned in my review will love this.

Crimson
September 24th 2007



1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've got the cover art as my desktop background, you can find a big version on their website, it fits perfectly and just looks... amazing.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 24th 2007



16258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've got the cover art as my desktop background, you can find a big version on their website, it fits perfectly and just looks... amazing.


Sweet, I'm gonna go look at that now, I absolutely LOVE the cover art.

Crimson
September 24th 2007



1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's under downloads on Desktop backgrounds

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 24th 2007



16258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just got it, it looks amazing! Thanks for pointing that out, I didn't even think of looking for it for my desktop.

Willie
Moderator
September 24th 2007



15877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a good review... and it's a good album... I am inclined to agree that it is their best release ever... but I can't go so far as to call it a classic or an album of the year.This Message Edited On 09.24.07

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

Shattered_Future
September 24th 2007



1539 Comments


Yeah, it makes too many missteps to be called a classic. There's a few songs that just bore me.

And album of the year...not when After Forever's S/T came out.

Wizard
September 24th 2007



19215 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Excellent review except when you say things like this "I think it makes Opeth look silly in comparison." Yeah right! Good album though.

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 24th 2007



16258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"I think it makes Opeth look silly in comparison." Yeah right!


Thats why I put the "I Think" in there ;)

Originally I wrote it like it was a fact, but then I realized I would get backlash on that so i wrote it as an opinion. I'm entitled to my opinion :DThis Message Edited On 09.24.07

Wizard
September 24th 2007



19215 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^^^^This is true since a majority of this website is opinion. I don't know what I was thinking with that backlash..........must have been my fanboyism for Opeth! Great review once again and I will check out this album again since I probably missed something the first time.

epizoan
October 6th 2007



87 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely Amorphis' best release since 'Elegy'. I just wish Tomi Koivusaari would growl more. I have always enjoyed thier progressiveness and willingness to try different things. Unfortunately they took it (WAY) too far with 'Am Universum'. (the only album I cannot stomach).

Doppelganger
October 8th 2007



3124 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Amorphis: serious business.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2007



16258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Indeed, they have really pulled it together. Still loving this album. Still my album of the year.

TheHamburgerman
October 20th 2007



1283 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome album although at times I think they wanted to create another Eclipse, they could have expanded a little more.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy