Amorphis Silent Waters
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
EyesWideShut
September 23rd 2007


3259 Comments


I've been looking to get into Amorphis for some time but I am unsure what kind of music they play. Are they like some power symphonic metal. Or a melo- death band like Opeth?? I think I keep getting this band confused with another.

MeowMeow
September 23rd 2007


662 Comments


But I don't know, I don't seem to like this music, usually.

That's what I thought when reading the review, but listening to the album, I actually really like it.

Blurry
September 24th 2007


96 Comments


This is an improvement on Eclipse. I'm finding myself growing used to Joutsen's voice (whcih I hated at first). Not bad at all.

@ Hostile101 - The thing with Amorphis is that they've changed style a lot over the years. On their demos, they were a full-tilt evil death metal band. From there they evolved into a proggy death metal band (The Karelian Isthmus, Tales from the Thousand Lakes - kind of like Opeth, who are NOT melodic death), then into more of a prog/classic rock band (Elegy, which still has about 50% death vocals; Tuonela and Am Universum which has very few. The sound is kind of like, Pink Floyd meets Sabbath meets European folk music).

From there they morphed into a straight forward rock band (Far from the Sun, which is just a stripped back version of the previous sound), and finally into a rock band with prog & harsher metallic leanings (Eclipse & Silent Waters, which throw elements of all of the above into a blender).

Shattered_Future
September 24th 2007


1541 Comments


Not a 5. Amorphis's best album for sure, but not a 5, and not album of the year either. Good review though...my copy appears to be messed up with the tracks. Then again, I have had this album since...somewhere towards the beginning of the summer. I should go out and get this soon.

Pebster49
September 24th 2007


2993 Comments


I have this listened to a few songs...but then got distracted cause BTBAM's new album is so amazing...

freudianslipknot
September 24th 2007


803 Comments


OK, I have to get this. Great review. I have elegy and tales and I love them both - in fact, elegy is one of my favourite albums. I have to admit that I like what you said about the songs flowing into each other. I like albums to hold together as a unit. I was in two minds, but now I will definitely pick this up. Oh yeah, and that artwork has to be the best I have ever seen. Very moving.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 24th 2007


16696 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is like a mix of melodic death metal, doom, and progressive. It's hard to explain, but I'm sure any fan of the albums I mentioned in my review will love this.

Crimson
September 24th 2007


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've got the cover art as my desktop background, you can find a big version on their website, it fits perfectly and just looks... amazing.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 24th 2007


16696 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've got the cover art as my desktop background, you can find a big version on their website, it fits perfectly and just looks... amazing.




Sweet, I'm gonna go look at that now, I absolutely LOVE the cover art.

Crimson
September 24th 2007


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's under downloads on Desktop backgrounds

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 24th 2007


16696 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just got it, it looks amazing! Thanks for pointing that out, I didn't even think of looking for it for my desktop.

Willie
Moderator
September 24th 2007


16194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a good review... and it's a good album... I am inclined to agree that it is their best release ever... but I can't go so far as to call it a classic or an album of the year.This Message Edited On 09.24.07

Shattered_Future
September 24th 2007


1541 Comments


Yeah, it makes too many missteps to be called a classic. There's a few songs that just bore me.

And album of the year...not when After Forever's S/T came out.

Wizard
September 24th 2007


19791 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Excellent review except when you say things like this "I think it makes Opeth look silly in comparison." Yeah right! Good album though.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 24th 2007


16696 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"I think it makes Opeth look silly in comparison." Yeah right!




Thats why I put the "I Think" in there ;)



Originally I wrote it like it was a fact, but then I realized I would get backlash on that so i wrote it as an opinion. I'm entitled to my opinion :DThis Message Edited On 09.24.07

Wizard
September 24th 2007


19791 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^^^^This is true since a majority of this website is opinion. I don't know what I was thinking with that backlash..........must have been my fanboyism for Opeth! Great review once again and I will check out this album again since I probably missed something the first time.

epizoan
October 6th 2007


87 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely Amorphis' best release since 'Elegy'. I just wish Tomi Koivusaari would growl more. I have always enjoyed thier progressiveness and willingness to try different things. Unfortunately they took it (WAY) too far with 'Am Universum'. (the only album I cannot stomach).

Doppelganger
October 8th 2007


3124 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Amorphis: serious business.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2007


16696 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Indeed, they have really pulled it together. Still loving this album. Still my album of the year.

TheHamburgerman
October 20th 2007


1322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome album although at times I think they wanted to create another Eclipse, they could have expanded a little more.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy