Between the Buried and Me Colors
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DFelon204409
Emeritus
September 6th 2007



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree with Kings and Doppel in saying other than Selkies, Alaska isn't that great, but I wouldn't say it's boring at all.

Doppelganger
September 6th 2007



3124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So far, I'm liking this loads more than Alaska.

Wow.Informal Gluttony.This Message Edited On 09.06.07

DFelon204409
Emeritus
September 6th 2007



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm not all that impressed with "Informal Gluttony." The middle eastern augmented seconds are too much exoticism, not enough cool dissonance.

Doppelganger
September 6th 2007



3124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Just giving everyone another update because I know everyone cares: Wow. Sun of Nothing. I've already heard more memorable things on this album than on all of Alaska.

I'm guessing I should get The Silent Circus, amirite?This Message Edited On 09.06.07

Kid A
September 6th 2007



261 Comments


Oh I can't waiiiiiiiiit.

Wizard
September 6th 2007



18784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I might check this out. Your review was solid, but I can't exactly say that BTBAM's past efforts are the same. They sound impressive in one part but their transitions into another section sound forced.

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Justanothernimrod
September 6th 2007



478 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what I've heard of this so far I absolutely love, more than I can say about any other BTBAM record.

They've only made little touches; better production sound, seamless genre switches, but they've made a massive difference.

Foam Born is SO GOOD! Excited to hear the whole thing

Kid A
September 6th 2007



261 Comments


So I know this whole album flows together. Does anyone know if it's a story or what?

kalkal50
September 7th 2007



2386 Comments


Awesome review

JumpTheF**kUp
September 7th 2007



2708 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is somewhere between a 3 and a 4 for me. Don't think I've listened to it enough though, I just get kind of bored after about 15 - 20 minutes and switch to something else.
Great review.

Confessed2005
September 7th 2007



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll check this out when it is officially released. Good review Nick.

kalkal50
September 7th 2007



2386 Comments


it's like a 4 for me

Confessed2005
September 7th 2007



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, a 4 is pretty good.

Well, excellent according to Sputnik's slightly odd rating system.

StrizzMatik
September 7th 2007



3158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sun Of Nothing = best BTBAM chorus/melody ever
Ants In The Sky = owns your mom

Eakflanderyof
September 7th 2007



2143 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Selkies is good, but All Bodies and Backwards Marathon are both better songs.

StrizzMatik
September 7th 2007



3158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't really get why people fawn over Silent Circus. It's like HORSE the band's R. Borlax to me; 30% killer, 70% filler, and people say it's the best record just because it's their first LP. Come on bros, let's be real: Tommy's vox SUCKED (which killed a lot of it for me), the guitars are nowhere as interesting, their melding of influences is shoddy and more forced compared to the new stuff, and their newer rhythm section owns the one on Circus. Yeah it's good, but decidedly immature and song-wise nowhere as consistent, polished, or well-written as their newer efforts. IMO the true distinction of a good band is when they write good ALBUMS, not just good parts/individual songs. And that's why Colors freaking kills.This Message Edited On 09.07.07

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
September 7th 2007



17914 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Alaska relies more on a bunch of OMG moments. Colors is just solid and consistent all the way through.

kalkal50
September 7th 2007



2386 Comments


true but I still think Circus has better songs

gasmaskman
September 7th 2007



1006 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really think R. Borlax> anything else HORSE has done, though Colors to me is definitely their most consistant.

StrizzMatik
September 7th 2007



3158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My HTB scale goes like this: Mechanical Hand > A Natural Death > R. Borlax > Pizza EP.

BTBAM: Colors > Alaska > Silent Circus > s/t



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy