Edge of Sanity Purgatory Afterglow
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crimson
February 1st 2008


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So he did! Must have been getting it confused with Velvet Dreams (which is actually pretty awesome though), he also apparently did a bit of Song of Sirens, but I've heard elsewhere that the band wrote it without him (?)
Still though, after Velvet Dreams, the album loses major steam.

Yazz_Flute
February 2nd 2008


18851 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, Velvet Dreams is pretty awesome, even though the lyrics are kinda weird without Swano...the "crying purple tears" part of the chorus especially is kinda wtf.

But my god this album is awesome, it's a grower definately, i'm confident with giving it a 4.5 now.

What EoS album(s) should I get next? I want more of these guys, I can see them becoming one of my favorite death metal acts. I only own this and Crimson.

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

Crimson
February 3rd 2008


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Crimson II should probably be your next album, though a bit of an adjustment would be needed, as it doesn't sound much like this or Crimson.
Or, you could go for The Spectral Sorrows, which once again doesn't sound much like this, definitely a more simple death metal sound back then, but it's still pretty good.
You could also try out Infernal, though that is a very odd album, half of it is good, brilliant even, yet the other half that Swano didn't write is pretty poor, but that's the one that sounds most like this.

Poet
February 7th 2008


5935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Twilight is such an amazing song. The melody of it is great.

Crimson
February 10th 2008


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Twilight was -and remains to be- one of my favourite EOS songs ever.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2008


16466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sick album.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 20th 2008


16466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Twilight" is such a fucking intense song. My favorite song from this band.This Message Edited On 08.26.08

Burn2Burn
August 26th 2008


2378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wow twilight is so fucking good.

SynGates
August 26th 2008


2467 Comments


definitely my favorite from the album

fireaboveicebelow
September 14th 2008


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just got all the edge of sanity albums for $77...YAY

Wizard
September 14th 2008


19608 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

How and where so I can buy up their entire discography for that deal?

I still need to hear this.

Digging: Full Of Hell & Merzbow - Full Of Hell & Merzbow

fireaboveicebelow
September 14th 2008


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

someone was selling it in a bundle on ebay, I just got lucky is all, right place right time

Wizard
September 14th 2008


19608 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fuck you!!!! hahaha

Very nice score.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2008


16466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listened to this again today, still an excellent album and well deserving of a solid 4. Twilight and Black Tears are essential Edge Of Sanity.

Wizard
October 13th 2008


19608 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

God, I'm getting so pissed off that Canadian music stores, including the good underground/ used stores, don't carry shit by these guys. If I were to find their entire discography, I buy it up instantly. That Dan Swano solo album is so damn good.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2008


16466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm actually planning on getting his solo album when I get some cash. I hear its amazing.

Crimson
October 13th 2008


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's nothing like this, or any Edge Of Sanity stuff, don't go into it expecting something along those lines like me.

fireaboveicebelow
October 13th 2008


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

do you mean Moontower?

Crimson
October 13th 2008


1935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yah

Saidir
November 21st 2008


77 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

After two listens this owns my face.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy