Bathory Under the Sign of the Black Mark
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2011


16487 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think that Bathory are the most respected band in all of black metal, if not all of metal in general. I honestly don't think I've ever heard anyone talk shit about them (individual albums like Octagon aside).

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2011


19069 Comments


I got this book about Swedish Death Metal the last time i was in a book store, and the guy writing it thinks that, after Venom did their stuff, the development of pretty much all extreme metal was influenced by Bathory.

And i think i agree with him.

Digging: Stereolab - Dots and Loops

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I would consider Bathory, Possessed, Celtic Frost, and Mercyful Fate all of paramount importance to extreme metal. But perhaps Bathory most of all.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2011


19069 Comments


The book is actually quite good, the guy who wrote it grew up when swedish dm was at it's height so it's not just some ignorant reporter jumping on a hype train.

But he cited Possessed as the real start of death metal, with Bathory being just an all around powerhouse influence. He mentioned Celtic Frost and Mercyful Fate too.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Most people would probably agree with that.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2011


16487 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've seen that book at my local record store and thought about buying it. Might do so next time I'm down there. But I agree with Angel about those bands (Bathory, Celtic Frost and Possessed especially) being the basis of extreme metal, and I also agree that Bathory is probably the most important of all.

ThrashK
June 29th 2011


60 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This is really some bind-blowing material.

Seriously. All raw bm fans, listen to this...

Digging: Nehemah - Light of a Dead Star

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 7th 2011


16487 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of the best bm albums ever

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
July 7th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This and Blood Fire Death are about equal for me. Realized I need to bump to 4.5.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
July 7th 2011


16487 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Think this is my favorite Bathory

TheNotrap
August 6th 2011


8133 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

In my opinion Quorthon's best record.
My favourite tracks here are Enter the Eternal Fire and specially Woman of Dark Desires, his best song.
Essential and extreme influential to the second wave of Black Metal.

Digging: Funebrarum - The Sleep of Morbid Dreams

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2011


16487 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You think this is the best Bathory yet it is only a 3.5

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Was gonna say the exact same thing.

TheNotrap
August 6th 2011


8133 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Well Quorthon never made a record 4/5 or 5/5 in my book. Don't get me wrong I like all his initial work (from the debut to BFD) but something is always missing...It's just an opinion nothing more.

But 3.5/5 is a good rate.

TheNotrap
November 2nd 2011


8133 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

WOMANNNNN OF DARK DESIRESSSSSSSSS
ELIZABETH BATHORYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY


xist
January 28th 2012


171 Comments


I've only heard the remastered reissue of this and am assuming it's an improvement sound quality wise. Please reassure me that i'm not kidding myself, else i'm going to need to track down the original....

ValeriusTheImmortal
January 28th 2012


1237 Comments


agree with TheNotrap. Bathory is very influential, but Quorthon is just not that great

ValeriusTheImmortal
January 28th 2012


1237 Comments


and i seriously doubt a remaster of this is going to be better if its like any other remaster

Metalguy908
March 5th 2012


284 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Equimanthorn!!!!!!!!!! Equimanthorn!!!!!! Equimanthorn!!!!

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
April 6th 2012


1922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is certainly one of the epitomes of traditional black metal, yet nowadays it seems to be the genre that embraces more variation and experimentation. The rawness of the production and scything vocals only add to the atmospheric effect already given off by the intro and 'Massacre'. The rest of the album follows suit, including a long-winding epic (compared to the other songs) in 'Enter the eternal fire' and a tribute to one of the most seminal serial killers in 'Woman of dark desires'. It's interesting that Bathory were merely a one-man band before this album, but this album still showcases much of Quorthon's talent as a musician on the whole.

Digging: Execration (NOR) - Morbid Dimensions



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy