Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Flyggeli
December 4th 2007



45 Comments


haha this is such a pathetic review. all it does is describe the theme and lists the accompanying words.
also it would probably be better if peopled reviewed the actually overall 'performance' of the piece rather than the piece itself.
unless beethoven had a delorean

rasputin
December 4th 2007



14538 Comments


haha this is such a pathetic review

I tried reviewing a classical piece a few weeks ago but I couldn't because I found it incredibly difficult. Instead of bitching why not try write one yourself?

I played classical piano for 6 years (haven't for the past two years though), and Beethoven is one of my favourite composers. However, I think it's redundant to say 'composer A is better than composer B'. All the famous composers are famous because they were all brilliant, and whether you like one or not is not due to their ability, rather your own preference for the said composers music.

Anyway, your review wasn't bad, but maybe next time try to put some more detail in. I look forward to any more classical reviews

Flyggeli
December 4th 2007



45 Comments


ive written plenty of reviews thanks

Bfhurricane
December 4th 2007



6197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

According to secret unknown sources, this review is 1 more than youve written. What hes saying is that classical is nearly impossible to review, and Id agree that its very tough. Im going to consider reviewing a classical guitar cd I have

Tyler
Emeritus
December 4th 2007



7926 Comments


I lewl'd. Unknown sources. Lewl.

Flyggeli
December 4th 2007



45 Comments


skip to my lewl

rasputin
December 4th 2007



14538 Comments


ive written plenty of reviews thanks


Taken from your profile:
Reviews 0
Soundoffs 2
Approval 0%
Site Rank

If you want to redeem yourself, you have until Sunday evening to write a classical review. If you're not going to, then shut the fuck up.

McP3000
December 4th 2007



3941 Comments


The release date makes me lol

It looks so out of place

Tyler
Emeritus
December 4th 2007



7926 Comments


That's not his only account. He was one of the first reviewers here.
And so I lewl once more.

rasputin
December 4th 2007



14538 Comments


Doesn't make a difference for me.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2007



16083 Comments


He is totally right, why does he have to write a review to prove that.

rasputin
December 4th 2007



14538 Comments


Because instead of being encouraging, he just bags out the review by calling it pathetic. That annoys me.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2007



16083 Comments


The internet isn't like a nice place. He said why the review was "pathetic", the reviewer should take that to account because he is really right. Reading this review, I'm wondering where the actual review is.

rasputin
December 4th 2007



14538 Comments


I actually thought the paragraph was quite well written, if a little short. So instead of saying it's pathetic, I went on to tell him he should put more detail into it.
And no, the internet isn't a nice place, so I can say whatever the hell I want.

plane
Staff Reviewer
December 4th 2007



6093 Comments


well that wasn't a paradox at all

rasputin
December 4th 2007



14538 Comments


I meant that I can say what I want to Flyggeli, but yeah, it sort of backfired :P

GrandMaestro30
January 12th 2008



12 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

response to:"haha this is such a pathetic review'.

As a response to yourcomment: This first review was only
written in such laymen's terms for the purpose of describing a
great complexity; think of the human soul being a jigsaw
puzzle, and you have to put the pieces together; it's that
difficult. I respect your thoughts on what I must admit is not
really a review of this album, but more so, an introduction to
something so subjective. Music has a substance that is quite
subjective, if it could be explained rationally, or
scientifically, the purpose and desire of music would
die.
Beethoven's Ninth Symphony is incredible, in the sense of
interpretation and meaning. I have spent quite a time listening
to hundreds of recordings of this one symphony, and still, I
find something new about it to love even more every time. This
specific album is not that great, in the sense that it does not
achieve the purpose/intent that Beethoven was trying to convey.

And, the most important thing about classical music, especially
Beethoven, is getting the music right, so no, Beethoven doesn't
have a delorean, but in stead, we have his score of this
symphony, of which it is the job of the conductor to read and
interpret. I should have finished this review a long time ago,
but, if you want to hear a great recording of this symphony,
look to Herbert von Karajan with the Berlin Philharmonic, 1989,
his last recording of it; .This Message Edited On 01.12.08This Message Edited On 01.15.08

GrandMaestro30
January 12th 2008



12 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I am also so amazed at the feedback to this review/introduction. I've sort-of established a goal in life to share my greatest love and joy, with as many people as possible, for, classical music isn't called "classical" because of the instruments, but more so because it is a music that will never die, just as "classical" greek and roman literature.

bustyagunz
August 17th 2008



911 Comments


amen.
btw, going back to the first set of comments, you can't really compare beethoven, bach, and chopin, considering they are all from different periods.
Bach - Baroque
Beethoven - Classical-Romantic
Chopin - Romantic

Edit: Maybe Chopin and Beethoven, but stillThis Message Edited On 08.17.08

ConorMichaelJoseph
March 18th 2009



1870 Comments


Glad to see I'm not the only person on this site who appreciates Beethoven after all.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy