Sigur Ros ( )
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
mindleviticus
May 4th 2013


8326 Comments


takk >>>>>>>

stabbler
May 4th 2013


1415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Maybe if that's the first Sigur ros you ever heard. Was that the first Sigur ros you ever heard?

Rev
May 4th 2013


9439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no it was this

toxin.
May 5th 2013


12775 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

this was the first sigur ros i ever heard

Keyblade
May 5th 2013


15219 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

me too and it's the best agreed

Digging: Insides - Euphoria

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2013


7145 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Lol. This album just stands out so much for me in their catalogue. Everything about it is so unique to itself I've always thought.

I saw them live recently and the first track they played from this was Untitled 1, and as soon as that first note was played I just knew exactly what was happening, what song it was, and got into the mood immediately. I love that about this album. Songs like Hoppipolla are obviously easily identifiable by their melodies, but with ( ) I feel like even the simplest part of the sound on here is identifiable as being a part of this album. I don't think I explained that very well and I'm not sure I could. But there's a familiarity that I was able to develop with certain motifs of this album that I just can't with others.

toxin.
May 5th 2013


12775 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

tbh i only commented to add to the ridiculous amount of anim(e/ated) avatars on htis page, baseline what is your avatar from

minty901
May 5th 2013


2080 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this and med sud i eyrum vid spilem endelaust are the only two sigur ros albums you really need. they cover most of the band's spectrum of sound and are their two best albums.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2013


7145 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah I would definitely say Agaetis or Takk would be more essential than Med.

minty901
May 5th 2013


2080 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

except the vocals in agaetis and takk are pretty irritating.

sorry everyone.

Keyblade
May 5th 2013


15219 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album is so dull and uninspired that people can't help but be amazed when a decent part begins to play.

not really. it just has one of my favorite atmospheres ever.

minty901
May 5th 2013


2080 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

he's an incredible singer but it doesn't transfer well to those two albums imo. sounds a bit whiney. better when he sings higher.

minty901
May 5th 2013


2080 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

and i will be seeing them live in november. can't wait.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2013


7145 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"except the vocals in agaetis and takk are pretty irritating."

Weird that you think that because his vocals only ever bother me on Med (and his solo stuff somewhat). I don't ever find him to sound whiny, I just think it's a moody vibe that's given off on some of those tracks. The higher-pitched vocals to me just sound too "cutesy" and saccharine and I fucking hate that. Just kind of seems to go against everything I like this band for.

Keyblade
May 5th 2013


15219 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wouldn't care even if they achieved those sounds by farting

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2013


7145 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Lol. Really though how many of these tracks have "big drum sounds"? The drums are pretty subdued on most of this i would say.

minty901
May 5th 2013


2080 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

listen to "Flugufrelsarinn" and tell me his vocals aren't whiney as fuck. i like it when he sounds saccharine. see "Festival".

Keyblade
May 5th 2013


15219 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

his vocals are my favorite on here. on takk and some parts of agaetis it's just like wut

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2013


7145 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah I don't think they're whiny on Flugufrelsarinn. I think they're intentionally discordant at some points, but if they're whiny on that track aren't they whiny in Untitled 7's climax? For me, both of those deliveries serve a similar purpose.

I don't think Festival or Jonsi's vocal performance on the track are at all saccharine. It's one of my favorite tracks on the album - no complaints about it at all really. What I'm talking about is the shit like on Gobbledigook where his entire vocal delivery is so unnaturally chipper and then to top it all off there are fucking "lalalalalala"s going on in the background.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2013


7145 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I like his falsetto and his natural voice both quite a bit, it just comes down to how he uses them for me. For the most part though I really enjoy his vocals.

Even tracks like Gobbledigook that I dislike his vocals on - it's more a fault with the track itself - it just tries to be too overwhelmingly happy. His vocals are a part of that sure but it's not his vocals that kill the track alone.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy