Sigur Ros ( )
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Keyblade
May 5th 2013


16458 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

his vocals are my favorite on here. on takk and some parts of agaetis it's just like wut

Digging: Post Malone - Post Malone EP

TMobotron
May 5th 2013


7202 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah I don't think they're whiny on Flugufrelsarinn. I think they're intentionally discordant at some points, but if they're whiny on that track aren't they whiny in Untitled 7's climax? For me, both of those deliveries serve a similar purpose.



I don't think Festival or Jonsi's vocal performance on the track are at all saccharine. It's one of my favorite tracks on the album - no complaints about it at all really. What I'm talking about is the shit like on Gobbledigook where his entire vocal delivery is so unnaturally chipper and then to top it all off there are fucking "lalalalalala"s going on in the background.

TMobotron
May 5th 2013


7202 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I like his falsetto and his natural voice both quite a bit, it just comes down to how he uses them for me. For the most part though I really enjoy his vocals.



Even tracks like Gobbledigook that I dislike his vocals on - it's more a fault with the track itself - it just tries to be too overwhelmingly happy. His vocals are a part of that sure but it's not his vocals that kill the track alone.

minty901
May 5th 2013


2161 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

ah ok i get what you mean now. yeah i could see how a couple of tracks on med and his solo album could be irritating. especially since it's a completely different style to sigur's other music. you can't be expected to like every style of music that an artist chooses to explore.



and i don't remember discordant at the end of untitled 7. maybe it just fits better for me. but yeah, agaetis has moments of bad vocals mixed in with his usual great performance (i love track 2). whereas takk is just overall a little bit flat-sounding for my liking, as if he isn't quite singing high enough (especially on hoppipolla, i hate the vocals on that song), but never sounds as bad as the bad moments on agaetis. his vocals are absolutely flawless on med sud.

TMobotron
May 5th 2013


7202 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Not really the end of Untitled 7, the climax I'm referring to is closer to the middle (6:40-ish). Don't get me wrong though minty, I still like Med quite a lot (and his solo work), I just think it's a decent bit worse than this/Takk/Agaetis.



But damn dude IDK I think his vocal work on hoppipolla is just perfect. When the instrumentation finally hits that peak and jonsi is crooning his soul out, I think it's one of the best sigur ros moments.

YakNips
June 24th 2013


16796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Contemplating bumping my rating on this

Digging: Suis La Lune - Distance/Closure

beefshoes
July 17th 2013


5615 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

When I hear this album, I feel it's the sonic equivalent to Iceland's spectacular beauty. Untitled #3 absolutely tears me up though. This was like the quintessential breakup album for me in high school.

Digging: Titus Andronicus - The Most Lamentable Tragedy

beefshoes
July 17th 2013


5615 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

One of my favourite albums of all time though.

The bowed guitar just makes songs like 4, 6, and 8 beyond epic.



YakNips
July 17th 2013


16796 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed

demigod!
July 17th 2013


47074 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good stuff but i like Agaetis a lot more.

Digging: Meat Puppets - Up on the Sun

beefshoes
July 17th 2013


5615 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Both are worthy of the praise they get imo

So tough choosing between the two but I definitely like the dense atmospheric feel of this a tad more, especially in the winter.

Paracletus96
July 17th 2013


306 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is wayyy more heartfelt than that fetus album, the cover of which creeps me out and is probably why i'm a pedophile or something

Underflow
July 17th 2013


3239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The last track is mind-expanding.

tommygun
July 18th 2013


25680 Comments


sugar rose

Paracletus96
July 18th 2013


306 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

u sigh

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2013


16831 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is nice.

aggelosm
July 29th 2013


472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Untitled 8 is the soundtrack of heaven

BigPleb
July 29th 2013


41712 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pure beauty.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2013


16831 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

3, 4, 6 and 8 are all reaaaaally cool, drags a bit here and there though.

BigPleb
July 29th 2013


41712 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmm very slightly, makes me feel warm.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy