Devin Townsend Physicist
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
KILL
October 19th 2009


74378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

production sucks on this

Willie
Moderator
October 19th 2009


16350 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

haha I just found quotes from this review on the album's wiki page: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physicist_%28album%29


Cool. Daveyboy found a quote from my The Used review being used in Australia to promote their upcoming tour.

CrazyFool84
October 22nd 2009


1081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

yeah this is what i'd have rated it (well, more like a 2.8/2.9 but it'll get the generous round up) Nice job on the HevyDevy review

TRMshadow
November 11th 2009


4983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Devin is a genius, even the bad albums are good.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
May 30th 2010


22969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Nameste," "Material," and "Kingdom" are the best off here I think.

Digging: Fuck the Facts - Desire Will Rot

bloc
September 17th 2010


35651 Comments


So I think that Kingdom is my favourite Townsend/SYL track

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2010


22969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is actually growing on me. "The Complex" and "Jupiter" are nice tracks

KILL
October 27th 2010


74378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

bum

Gmork89
October 27th 2010


5790 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

For an album in general, it's great. for a Devin album, it's good.

cb123
November 2nd 2010


2106 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

loved ocean machine but this didnt have the same quality about it

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 2nd 2010


22969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Production really brings this down. Still songs like "Victim" and "Death" are mediocre

Dis_Con_Nec_Ted
December 4th 2011


4255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Digging the straight-forwardness on this. The raw production doesn't really bother me tbh.

Gmork89
December 4th 2011


5790 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Material is so damn good, I would love a remastered version of it. This whole album should be remastered DTP style.

Dis_Con_Nec_Ted
December 22nd 2011


4255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This really close to a 4 now.



Planet Rain is quite an epic closer. Love the 'chorus' that pops up twice.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2012


2196 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To me this is one of the more underrated DT albums, though it could have been slightly longer. On the whole i liked this a lot, primarily for the masterful epic that is 'Planet Rain'.

Digging: Mekong Delta - Dances of Death (and other Walking Shadows)

macadoolahicky
February 13th 2012


1835 Comments


Great review, Trey! I think I liked this a little bit more than you though. Gotta love "Irish Maiden"!

conesmoke
June 3rd 2012


5376 Comments


Thomas Haake really digs this album. i'm quite keen to hear it

macadoolahicky
June 3rd 2012


1835 Comments


'Tis a very good record, has it's flaws though.

LilLioness
October 31st 2012


2952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I feel like one of very few who actually really enjoy this record. The production doesn't bother me (in fact, it fits "Namaste", "Material" and "Planet Rain" well).



I will admit the middle of the record does bleed together a bit, though.

thumbcrusher
February 1st 2013


3688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

love Material lots



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy