Devin Townsend Physicist
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
KILL
October 19th 2009



70573 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

production sucks on this

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

Willie
Moderator
October 19th 2009



15876 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

haha I just found quotes from this review on the album's wiki page: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physicist_%28album%29

Cool. Daveyboy found a quote from my The Used review being used in Australia to promote their upcoming tour.

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

CrazyFool84
October 22nd 2009



1080 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

yeah this is what i'd have rated it (well, more like a 2.8/2.9 but it'll get the generous round up) Nice job on the HevyDevy review

TRMshadow
November 11th 2009



4982 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Devin is a genius, even the bad albums are good.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
May 30th 2010



20631 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Nameste," "Material," and "Kingdom" are the best off here I think.

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

bloc
September 17th 2010



34669 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So I think that Kingdom is my favourite Townsend/SYL track

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2010



20631 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is actually growing on me. "The Complex" and "Jupiter" are nice tracks

KILL
October 27th 2010



70573 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

bum

Gmork89
October 27th 2010



5479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

For an album in general, it's great. for a Devin album, it's good.

Digging: The War on Drugs - Lost in the Dream

cb123
November 2nd 2010



1991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

loved ocean machine but this didnt have the same quality about it

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 2nd 2010



20631 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Production really brings this down. Still songs like "Victim" and "Death" are mediocre

Sound
December 4th 2011



3887 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Digging the straight-forwardness on this. The raw production doesn't really bother me tbh.

Gmork89
December 4th 2011



5479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Material is so damn good, I would love a remastered version of it. This whole album should be remastered DTP style.

Sound
December 22nd 2011



3887 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This really close to a 4 now.

Planet Rain is quite an epic closer. Love the 'chorus' that pops up twice.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2012



1844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To me this is one of the more underrated DT albums, though it could have been slightly longer. On the whole i liked this a lot, primarily for the masterful epic that is 'Planet Rain'.

Digging: Black Anvil - Hail Death

macadoolahicky
February 13th 2012



1835 Comments


Great review, Trey! I think I liked this a little bit more than you though. Gotta love "Irish Maiden"!

conesmoke
June 3rd 2012



5176 Comments


Thomas Haake really digs this album. i'm quite keen to hear it

macadoolahicky
June 3rd 2012



1835 Comments


'Tis a very good record, has it's flaws though.

LilLioness
October 31st 2012



2496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I feel like one of very few who actually really enjoy this record. The production doesn't bother me (in fact, it fits "Namaste", "Material" and "Planet Rain" well).

I will admit the middle of the record does bleed together a bit, though.

thumbcrusher
February 1st 2013



3574 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

love Material lots



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy