Devin Townsend Physicist
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
KILL
October 19th 2009


71750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

production sucks on this

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

Willie
Moderator
October 19th 2009


15975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

haha I just found quotes from this review on the album's wiki page: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physicist_%28album%29

Cool. Daveyboy found a quote from my The Used review being used in Australia to promote their upcoming tour.

Digging: Necropoli - I

CrazyFool84
October 22nd 2009


1080 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

yeah this is what i'd have rated it (well, more like a 2.8/2.9 but it'll get the generous round up) Nice job on the HevyDevy review

TRMshadow
November 11th 2009


4982 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Devin is a genius, even the bad albums are good.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
May 30th 2010


21080 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Nameste," "Material," and "Kingdom" are the best off here I think.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

bloc
September 17th 2010


34848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So I think that Kingdom is my favourite Townsend/SYL track

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2010


21080 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is actually growing on me. "The Complex" and "Jupiter" are nice tracks

KILL
October 27th 2010


71750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

bum

Gmork89
October 27th 2010


5510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

For an album in general, it's great. for a Devin album, it's good.

cb123
November 2nd 2010


2016 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

loved ocean machine but this didnt have the same quality about it

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 2nd 2010


21080 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Production really brings this down. Still songs like "Victim" and "Death" are mediocre

Sound
December 4th 2011


3901 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Digging the straight-forwardness on this. The raw production doesn't really bother me tbh.

Gmork89
December 4th 2011


5510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Material is so damn good, I would love a remastered version of it. This whole album should be remastered DTP style.

Sound
December 22nd 2011


3901 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This really close to a 4 now.

Planet Rain is quite an epic closer. Love the 'chorus' that pops up twice.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2012


1876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To me this is one of the more underrated DT albums, though it could have been slightly longer. On the whole i liked this a lot, primarily for the masterful epic that is 'Planet Rain'.

Digging: Pallbearer - Foundations of Burden

macadoolahicky
February 13th 2012


1835 Comments


Great review, Trey! I think I liked this a little bit more than you though. Gotta love "Irish Maiden"!

conesmoke
June 3rd 2012


5208 Comments


Thomas Haake really digs this album. i'm quite keen to hear it

macadoolahicky
June 3rd 2012


1835 Comments


'Tis a very good record, has it's flaws though.

LilLioness
October 31st 2012


2496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I feel like one of very few who actually really enjoy this record. The production doesn't bother me (in fact, it fits "Namaste", "Material" and "Planet Rain" well).

I will admit the middle of the record does bleed together a bit, though.

thumbcrusher
February 1st 2013


3592 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

love Material lots



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy