Opeth Blackwater Park
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2013


14699 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Focus >"

Well obviously but this is still 5.0000000000000000000

Digging: Off Minor - The Heat Death of the Universe

BigPleb
September 24th 2013


36979 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Solid 4 dude.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins on Io

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2013


14699 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's no Of Malice and the Magnum Heart that's for sure h'oooooooooooh boy

BigPleb
September 24th 2013


36979 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Its not, agreed.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2013


14699 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol

TheCouchAstronaut
September 25th 2013


39 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

For me this was my first heavy Opeth album to get into. After thoroughly enjoying heritage then damnation I decided to dwell in their heavy side. Starting with album was probably a bad move, but i persisted to gain appreciation for this album. Even for the first 5-7 listens I still found it quite boring at times. So a few times a week I would chuck this on, slowly getting into it. Then I got mega baked and lay in bed with my head phones LOUD. Everything clicked. Also about the whole Dirge for November dragging on, I thought that proved it more effective by digging deeper and deeper into the dirge if that makes sense?

oltnabrick
September 25th 2013


31077 Comments


no because

Digging: Pharmakon - Bestial Burden

TheCouchAstronaut
September 28th 2013


39 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Creates more tension and relief

D41V30N
October 21st 2013


949 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

What a butthurt review.

Manqaness24
December 28th 2013


135 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review mate. I have listened to this album i feel that way at times. I will give it another try to see how i feel.

TalonsOfFire
April 6th 2014


8104 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I really like this review even if I don't agree with the rating

Digging: Musk Ox - Woodfall

toomanyxsinmyname
August 25th 2014


468 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This review is a perfect example of why staff(?) reviews shouldn't take over high-voted reviews. It's well written but very misleading.

Digging: Wolves in the Throne Room - Two Hunters

ChoccyPhilly
August 25th 2014


7165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Aside from the first paragraph, i don't think it's misleading at all

Digging: Swallowed - Lunarterial

toomanyxsinmyname
August 25th 2014


468 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I've been lurking here for a while and I have a basic understanding of how reviews like this work:

As soon as someone notable comes out and decides to put an album down that is well revered (4.5/5) other people agree with him all of the sudden.

Opeth really nailed this, and I think that Deliverance is their second best work even though people seem to have a vendetta against that one. I don't understand how this can be a 3 and then Del. a 2.5.

TalonsOfFire
August 25th 2014


8104 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You'll like my review of Deliverance coming soon if you consider it their second best

ChoccyPhilly
August 25th 2014


7165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That happens all the time though, like with the recent GY!BE review which was for 3.5 and everyone went nuts and the reviewer was hardly notable, just a bloke who could write well.

toomanyxsinmyname
August 25th 2014


468 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

deliverance is a 5

oops opinion

TalonsOfFire
August 25th 2014


8104 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

My new review will have it scored at a 5/5 and defend the hell out of it

ChoccyPhilly
August 25th 2014


7165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Even though you doesn't even believe it; that will be a pain to write up

TalonsOfFire
August 25th 2014


8104 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I actually believe a lot of what I'm going to say just not to the extreme that I'll say it. What will be a pain is having it still sound professional



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy