Bad Religion New Maps of Hell
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Intransit
July 17th 2007


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

After setting aside my expectations coming out of TESF, this isn't as disappointing as I once thought.

descendents1
July 18th 2007


702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

When you change your opinion about an album, it's usually your instincts and initial reactions to the music that are correct.

I thought the album sucked upon my first few listens, changed my mind for a while, did my laundry, and now I think it's pretty bad still.

PhoenixRising
July 18th 2007


277 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I still think this trumps TESF. An arguement could be made that TPOB was superior, but not by me...

meliffy18
July 20th 2007


50 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I liked it and I'm not a huge fan of Bad Religion by any means.This Message Edited On 07.20.07

Intransit
July 20th 2007


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I dunno, I've had plenty of albums that I've initially put down, and found out after a while that I've grown to love. Underoath's newest is a good example.

descendents1
July 20th 2007


702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I definitely see it growing on me if I take it in with moderation. I tried to go through it about 4 times in one sitting and by the end I felt sick.

Intransit
July 20th 2007


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, yeah. I can't even do that with a lot of albums regardless of their rating. Listening to anything over and over and over again is really just setting yourself up to be sick of it after a while.

emogangstascotty
July 22nd 2007


472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I dont know. Ive listened to it a while now, and it kind of grows on you. You just have to be paitent and dont expect too much. Its no TESF, and its def no Suffer, its still 'Bad, just for the 'vets.

Intransit
July 22nd 2007


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Saw them yesterday at Warped Tour, and this is what they played for those of you who care:

American Jesus
Social Suicide
I Want to Conquer the World
Requiem for Dissent
Honest Goodbye
You
New Dark Ages
Modern Man
Punk Rock Song
Infected
Sorrow

jebus FX
July 23rd 2007


302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wow...they actually like to play Honest Goodbye live?

motownphilly
July 23rd 2007


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Upon the first listen, i thought this was a HUGE disappointment. After a few more listens, i like almost every song. The only poor song i feel is Submission Complete, but the rest range from average to scrumtrillescent.

i think it's also worth mentioning that submission complete has sections of 5/4, which is the first time i've heard a bad religion song that isn't in 4/4.

StrizzMatik
July 27th 2007


3188 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dude, Brooks drumming in Submission Complete MAKES that song. His jam-out in the end is ridiculous.

Intransit
July 27th 2007


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Honest Goodbye is a damn good song. Probably the most complete song on the whole album


PhoenixRising
July 27th 2007


277 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I totally disagree. Honest Goodbye has grown on me since i first heard it on the radio, but it definately on the weaker side for me.

Strongest songs IMO Dearly BEloved, New Dark Ages, and Requium for Dissent.

descendents1
July 27th 2007


702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah New Dark Ages is sick. I like Grand Delusion too.

I think this album is so spread out that everyone's going to have their favorites, but I think it's hit or miss the whole way through.

Willie
Moderator
July 27th 2007


15972 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I bought the new Yellowcard and Within Temptation albums instead of this one... I know, I know... if any of you ever see me on the street, smack me.

Digging: Necropoli - I

emogangstascotty
July 31st 2007


472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They didn't play Sinister Rouge or LA Is Burning @ Warped? The bastards. Mabye you just forget things when you get older......

Intransit
July 31st 2007


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

For me, New Dark Ages, Heroes and Martyrs, Honest Goodbye, and Grains of Wrath are the best.

StrizzMatik
August 1st 2007


3188 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm a big fan of "The Grand Delusion". That half-time chorus sounds wicked with Baker's arpeggios in the background, and the ascending/pre-chorus part in "Dearly Beloved" gives me chills.

On another note, the average rating for this album is way too low. IMHO this easily competes with TPOB and TESF, if maybe a fraction of a nudge lower.

PhoenixRising
August 1st 2007


277 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agree Strizz. This is at least on par with TPOB and I would say better than TESF.

In regards to the rating, there is a lot of hate for Bad Religion out there. Some because they have had some mainstream success and some (and this i can at least understand) because of the dismal releases from the Atlantic years. I'm looking at you No Substance...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy