Bad Religion New Maps of Hell
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
elmobile
July 11th 2007


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can't understand much of the negativity surrounding this album. Musically and lyrically It sounds pretty great to me and i am very picky about buying new albums. BR have obviously consciously decided to make more music in the vain of RFH and STF with some neat new touches. Nothing wrong with that. In fact it sounds like a follow up to STF. Everything i want from BR is here - i'd be very disappointed if the album didn't sound like this.This Message Edited On 07.11.07

Fort23
July 11th 2007


2480 Comments


too many initials...
This Message Edited On 07.11.07

elmobile
July 11th 2007


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

To anyone who knows BR there isn't.

Fort23
July 11th 2007


2480 Comments


i knew you were going to say that.

i know BR, but their last few records all sounded incredibly similiar and got boring at times, though they are enjoyable.

elmobile
July 11th 2007


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I know what you mean. Maybe it's hard not to feel that way after listening to a band making many similar albums over so many years.

descendents1
July 12th 2007


702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well Mobile, Recipe for Hate and Stranger than Fiction were alright albums, whereas something like The Empire Strikes First would have blown me away. The more you listen to Bad Religion, the more you hear what makes them so good. A lot of this album is everything I've heard before but not nearly as great. The music is supposed to convey emotion and feeling. I feel like this is scripted and dry, as if Graffin and the team decided "I bet oohs and ahhs would fit well here...maybe a small guitar solo here...think they would like it if I carried my voice at the end of this verse?" They spend too much time trying to sound like themselves and as a result sound incredibly boring instead of brilliantly innovative (which they are very capable of demonstrating).

Fort has my idea as seen by his comment that I just read.

And wow one more thing. I've reconsidered my opinion on the review. I feel that you don't really understand why this record is bad Nick, but I know that you know that it's bad because you have musical intuition. It's like someone was questioning your feelings on the album and you responded "Well, (complaint), and well, (complaint), but well, (reasoning), 2/5," rather than getting the reader to understand exactly what the album was about and why it fails. Just my input and you can take it as you like.This Message Edited On 07.12.07

StrizzMatik
July 12th 2007


3229 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sorry on not getting back descendents... I actually love Recipe For Hate, but the flat production and so-so music (at times) makes it suffer a little bit in comparison to the classics. But I also think "Skyscraper" is one of the top BR songs of all time, with "All Good Soldiers", "Portrait Of Authority", and "Man On A Mission" being personal favorites.

I'm not saying BR's musical side isn't just as important if not more so than the lyrics. I love BR's style no matter what they do anyways... their melodies and especially their energy are phenomenal. Not to mention they're all talented as f*ck on their instruments. But the lyrics, like FatPete said, are pretty much integral to enjoying Bad Religion fully and should never be ignored in the context of reviewing them.

And Smashing Pumpkins suck, intransit? Get your head checked kid. I can see how some may not like the vocals, but musically they f*ck your dad and ask for sloppy seconds without breaking a sweat. Even Zeitgeist, an average album by their standards, is better than about 90% of rock albums coming out this year. And Siamese Dream and Mellon Collie weren't among some of the best alternative/rock albums ever made or anything... :lol:

PhoenixRising
July 12th 2007


277 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Listing Honest Goodbye as one of the standout tracks, and the same reviewer rating Against Me!'s New Wave higher than this rule this review out for me. Different strokes for different folks i guess...

Is this the largest jewel in BR's crown? No... but a very strong performance. Best album vrom them since the return to Epitaph and TPOB was stellar too.

204409
Emeritus
July 12th 2007


3996 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

[quote=Phoenix]Listing Honest Goodbye as one of the standout tracks[/quote]

It really is though. BR always picks good songs for single though.

PhoenixRising
July 12th 2007


277 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey DFelon,

BR has been doing this for the last few years. They make one or two tracks per album that are obvious radio tracks and very different from their usual style.

I cant tell you how many people I've talked to that said "I bought the BR album because I loved Sorrow/Hills of L.A./Honest goodbye, and the rest of the album sucked!" Granted most of my friends arent the biggest punk fans but I think it highlights that these songs are pretty outside the classic BR sound.

I'm not saying they suck, and I'm not one of these guys claiming "Punk as Fuck", but in my humble opinion as a guy listening to BR for the better part of 13 years or so, I think its pretty obvious why they have 1 or 2 songs like this per record.

What do you think?

StrizzMatik
July 12th 2007


3229 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think that Grains Of Wrath, New Dark Ages, Germs Of Perfection, Dearly Beloved, and Fields Of Mars are quite a bit better as standouts than Honest Goodbye (which I like anyways) at any rate.

I wouldn't say BR always picks great singles. TGR's single (A Walk) sucked, Infected wasn't that great (off of STF), I won't even start on their latter Atlantic years, and I think 21st Century Digital Boy is mad overrated. Sorrow and L.A. Is Burning are great songs though.

Tyler
Emeritus
July 12th 2007


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I love Infected

Altmer
July 12th 2007


5652 Comments


I love 21st Century (Digital Boy)

PhoenixRising
July 12th 2007


277 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I'd have to say Infected and 21st Century DB DOMINATE Hills of LA/Sorrow/Honest Goodbye.

Although recipe for hate wasnt a top tier release, id have to cast my vote for American Jesus as my favoriet single.

or possibly Atomic Garden...

I dont know... :P

descendents1
July 12th 2007


702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I love A Walk.

Not the after dinner kind.

204409
Emeritus
July 12th 2007


3996 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

[quote=Phoenix]What do you think?[/quote]

Ya sure, I agree, but that doesn't mean "Honest Goodbye" still isn't a song I recommend to listeners. It's a pretty good track. I can't speak to how deliberate it is on BR's part but I wouldn't doubt it if they wrote a few radio songs.

jebus FX
July 14th 2007


302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wow i think this record is very underrated and its better than stranger than fiction and recipe for hate and if u listen to it more it'll grow on u, i hated it at first.

k182hy
July 17th 2007


21 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think that's a good album anyway

Very different to what they used to be but this is "getting old"


However good review

emogangstascotty
July 17th 2007


472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Its good, I really liked it. But yeah, you cant blame 'em, The 'Bad are getting old =( but then so are label mates NOFX and Pennywise. There stuff keeps getting shit too...hmm

Two-Headed Boy
July 17th 2007


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is really a great album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy