August Burns Red Messengers
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
UNDERAGE
June 20th 2007



29 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

*yawn*

Sharkyx
June 20th 2007



6 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol @ Cocaine ))

Wizard
June 20th 2007



19343 Comments


A well written review, but after checking out a few of the songs on their myspace page, they really just sound like most metalcore out there. Im not going to say you sound fanboyish, but I think you listened to this album a few times and gave it a quick opinion without consideration to replay value. These guys just dont have anything new to offer. I will give them credit for their weird rhythm changes and guitar. The breakdowns and the vocals are just aweful and generic.

Digging: Mistigo Varggoth Darkestra - The Key to the Gates of the Apocalypse

ToWhatEnd
June 20th 2007



3172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Im not going to say you sound fanboyish, but I think you listened to this album a few times and gave it a quick opinion without consideration to replay value.
I've had this since Thursday so the quick listens thing goes out the window. I have considered the replay value and as time passes I will most likely bump this down to a 4. But one thing you have to keep in mind is that I am a fan of metalcore at least more then the majority of the site. But if you don't like the vocals then it is understandable why you would think the rating is off, personally they are some of my favorite metalcore vocals. oPini0ns!

jrowa001
June 20th 2007



8750 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

good review. i havent listened to this yet but i used to like Thrill Seeker before i just got bored of it. ill still give this a listen. i like most metalcore but the thing is with metalcore is that it doesnt stick with you for that long. only a few bands have been able to do thatThis Message Edited On 06.20.07

NeverFading14
June 20th 2007



380 Comments


These guys are so boring, Every song sounds the EXACT same. The only song I can even get through by these guys is Your Little Suburbia Is In Ruins, Their biggest hit

cbmartinez
June 20th 2007



2525 Comments


Very nice review but this is one of the most terrible bands I have ever listened to. Painfully generic metalcore at it's worst. I refuse to call them talented because they do unusually timed breakdowns. Just another chug chug weee band.

kalkal50
June 20th 2007



2386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

ye just heard the album, i actually have a little thing for metalcore even though most ppl hate it, but this is extremely boring

RunAmokRampant
June 20th 2007



228 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Some of the rhythms are okay but the leads are pretty bland.

botb
June 20th 2007



9655 Comments


can't agree with all the bashing. went to see these guys live, and they put on a better show than the headlining band (as i lay dying). which is good, because i went to see abr. haha. but yeah, i can't even touch this drummer. his wierd offbeat drumming is ridiculous and this album is so amazing. i loved their last album and i can already tell im going to love this one.

RunAmokRampant
June 20th 2007



228 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The breakdowns aren't really in a real 'weird' time. I think I picked one out that went from 4/4 to 3/4. Nothing really special to considered 'weird'.

gasmaskman
June 21st 2007



1006 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I listened to their stuff a while ago...they just aren't very unique IMO.

Maybe this is different, but they were pretty much generic metalcore last I listened to them.

kalkal50
June 21st 2007



2386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

the vocals are so forced, yet they are barely crispy

Minus The Flair
Emeritus
June 21st 2007



862 Comments


August Burns Red shows individual improvement in all departmentss and natural maturity in songwriting as Messengers stands an absolutely incredible metalcore release.


small nitpick, otherwise a good review, though a bit long. I listened to this lot a while ago and just forgot about them, so I guess I won't be checking this out.

ToWhatEnd
June 21st 2007



3172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fixed and stuff. Thanks for the heads up, typo in the summary me = l0ser.

Wizard
June 21st 2007



19343 Comments


ToWhatEnd,
Your opinion is respected by me. I didnt mean my comment as anything negitive towards your choice in music. I do like some metalcore, but Im very picky with the subgenre.

ToWhatEnd
June 22nd 2007



3172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I do like some metalcore, but Im very picky with the subgenre.
Very understandable, most people are. I have certainly become more tolerable to the genre, at least in the sense I can tolerate some bands others think are absolutely dreadful. But it's all good :chug:

BallsToTheWall
June 22nd 2007



44197 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Another christian metalcore band, thats original. i tried to listen to these guys but just cant get into it

Digging: My Chemical Romance - Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge

ToWhatEnd
June 22nd 2007



3172 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Some metalcore is Christian, some black metal is satanic. If you are into the message cool, if not cool. But props for actually listening instead of just rating it a 1 and calling it a day. And now that I look into things further I'm actually a tad surprised you didn't like this a bit more with some of the bands you like. Any particular thing turn you off about the record? Edit: Just for the record I'm not trying to pry people to listen to this. I'm just curious for the responses and trying to spark more discussion.This Message Edited On 06.22.07

Cravinov13
June 22nd 2007



3854 Comments


I've ran into christian black metal before. Wouldn't recommend it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy