Opeth My Arms, Your Hearse
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BigPleb
May 15th 2014


47335 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

WHEEEEEN CAN III TAAAAAKE YOU FROOOOOM THIS PLAAAAAAAAAAACE

Digging: Every Time I Die - Low Teens

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
May 15th 2014


36283 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WHEN CAN WE SCREAM INSTEAD OF WHISPEEEEERRRRRRRRRR

Wadlez
May 15th 2014


4886 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Epilooooooooooooouge!

facupm
May 15th 2014


10791 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sweet closer

ChoccyPhilly
May 24th 2014


11467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"And I'll never know... WHEN"



*guitar intro*



"...AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH"



Digging: Alrakis - Alpha Eri

MO
May 24th 2014


20955 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

m/m/m/

elcrawfodor
May 24th 2014


1249 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

New favorite 'peth.

dannyboy89
May 24th 2014


13339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Album rules.

elcrawfodor
May 24th 2014


1249 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I actually love the slightly muddy production this review complains about, it just feels more genuine than the next few albums (still love them of course).

ChoccyPhilly
May 24th 2014


11467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree. I don't think Demon Of The Fall would have sound anywhere near as good if it had the same production as on Ghost Reveries

zaruyache
May 24th 2014


13853 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the dark/dirty production really works to create the proper tone/atmosphere that makes this album so great. Ghost Reveries sounds fantastic with clean production but it wasn't supposed to be as "dark" an album.



This is about ghosts and stuff. It needs to sound spooky.

Digging: Imbaru - Vigias

dannyboy89
May 24th 2014


13339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I never pay that much attention to 'Peth's lyrics tbh. I just listen to the music.

SnakeDelilah
May 24th 2014


16616 Comments


demon of the FAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLL

Digging: Norma Jean - Polar Similar

ChoccyPhilly
May 24th 2014


11467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The guitar on this does annoy me a bit like a certain part in Karma, but the more muddy production combined with some of Mikael's visceral vocals yet is a fantastic combination...



I don't think it sounds as evil as some parts of BWP but either way, it works perfecty.

zaruyache
May 24th 2014


13853 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The production on the CD version of BWP isn't that great, imo. It's sorta thin. The remaster sounds much better but I haven't gotten around to listening to the whole thing yet.

ChoccyPhilly
May 24th 2014


11467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah I see where you're coming from. Feels that way for The Drapery Falls I think but overall, it is just such a good album. Get round to it soon

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
May 24th 2014


25686 Comments


This has the best production of any Opeth album for me and it's not even close. It suits the album perfectly.

elcrawfodor
May 24th 2014


1249 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The way that the melodic parts here are slightly buried (like that lead at the end of Demon) under the densely layered evil and muddy guitars just works so well with the mood that the concept is going for. Maybe Opeth should go back to a true concept album.

ChoccyPhilly
May 24th 2014


11467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh i remember discovering it in different channels long after I discovered it and it was pretty awesome to hear. I'd rather another concept than the lyrical content of watershed/heritage

dannyboy89
May 24th 2014


13339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Gonna get this out of my system:



Opeth = PT > DT



Disagree all you like.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy