Tom Waits Rain Dogs
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
MrKite
July 30th 2007


5020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've only heard three of his but this and Bone Machine are both excellent.

MrKite
October 8th 2007


5020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Anyone know if Tom made up the phrase "rain dogs"?

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
February 24th 2008


4927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ok so I have had a lot of Tom Waits thrown at me, and I really just couldn't get into it at all. Rain Dogs, for anyone, should be the starting point because it's when his voice is at his absolute best and it's just a fucking solid record.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2008


17945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah!

Bron-Yr-Aur
March 2nd 2008


4405 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Anyone know if Tom made up the phrase "rain dogs"?

no he didnt

a well-earned five.


Iai
Emeritus
March 2nd 2008


3553 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"Clap Hands" is the coolest song ever.

Aficionado
March 2nd 2008


1027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'd like to think that "Walking Spanish" is the coolest song ever, but "Clap Hands" is pretty bitchin aswell.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
March 2nd 2008


17945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this should probably be a 5

Aficionado
March 2nd 2008


1027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

chan that is such a MediocreAtBest thing to say man

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
March 2nd 2008


17945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

except i've been listening to this for a year as opposed to a day

Aficionado
March 2nd 2008


1027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

but yeah this album is creeping towards 5, definitely.

jontheatheist
May 21st 2008


79 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i love how no one is seeing the complete Beefheartness of the album. Trout Mask is one of his favorite albums and you can tell when he got into it. People are recommending Sigur Ros but not Beefheart, wow.

jeffklassen881
June 15th 2008


3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Stewart's version of "Downtown Train" is blasphemous. Waits performed "Time" on the Letterman show, but time ran out and half the song was cut off. Neverless, Waits performed "Innocent When You Dream" and "Goin' Out West" on late-night television show later.This Message Edited On 06.15.08

jeffklassen881
June 15th 2008


3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Isn't the chorus of "Clap Hands" derived from a children's song? Waits's live performances often inserted snippets of old songs in this manner; perhaps those songs provided the original idea for the song in question, or perhaps the connection emerged in performance. Stewart also butchered the content of "Downtown Train" by switching the "they" and the "you" (the original was "I am nothing that will every win your heart..."). "Rain Dogs" is indeed a classic.

Shadowskos
June 26th 2008


352 Comments


It's about time I starting to listen to this album. Very enjoyable so far.

Bron-Yr-Aur
October 3rd 2008


4405 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

still rules

Bleak123
December 2nd 2008


1902 Comments


album is excellent ya know

Mendigo
December 2nd 2008


2299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

more like superb.

Bleak123
December 2nd 2008


1902 Comments


imo not really, i love it n' all but hey

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 2nd 2008


17945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

amazing album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy