Lamb of God Ashes of the Wake
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Motleyguy
January 31st 2006


118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a decent band, they're fairly original in their riffs, and the vocals, as far as metal goes. The album is alright, though it does get sort of redundant as it goes on, but as a musician, I can enjoy the parts being played by these guys, while not very dynamic, they are an extremely talented group of musicians.

Tma20SC
January 31st 2006


1 Comments


I'm a big fan of LOG recent album, it leans more toward my style of music. I dig the riffs because its some what slow & heavy with alot of crunch to it which is my style of metal music. Cris Adler in my opinion is a very solid drummer and is consistent in keeping time. I checked out their two previous albums As The Pal... & New Amercian.... and was not really impressed with them. I'm still listening to "Ashes of The Wake" album since its release.

The_Rev7x
February 1st 2006


11 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My friend got me into this band and they've have been one of my fav. metal bands since. Randy's voice is amazing, and his messege behind the music is so true and brutal, which only adds to its greatness. Recommended to all metal fans.

diefamous
February 5th 2006


281 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Tma20SC you seriously like Ashes of the Wake and don't like As the Palaces Burn? You might wanna listen to that album again.

inflames666
February 6th 2006


146 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you don't like the music, then don't bother to review it. It just discourages people who are actually into this style of music. This is a very good album and i personally think that Randy has a good voice. And there is no way that you can say it all sounds the same because that is very close minded and ignorant. This album is very diverse and dynamic at the same time as being aggressive. When I see someone like you review something and totally disregard taste and musical experience, it makes me sick. Make sure before you do a review, you listen to what you're reviewing.

Cravinov13
February 6th 2006


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can see what he means by the atmospheres and riffs being very similar in sound and tone, which is probably what he means. I agree with him for the most part, but I do love this album.

Drunken Viking
February 6th 2006


1023 Comments


[QUOTE=InFlames666]If you don't like the music, then don't bother to review it. It just
discourages people who are actually into this style of music. This is a very good album
and i personally think that Randy has a good voice. And there is no way that you can
say it all sounds the same because that is very close minded and ignorant. This album
is very diverse and dynamic at the same time as being aggressive. When I see someone
like you review something and totally disregard taste and musical experience, it makes
me sick. Make sure before you do a review, you listen to what you're reviewing.[/
QUOTE]
He did listen to the music, the whole reason that Sputnik was created was for
discussion of music, how can you have discussion if everyone likes the same thing?This Message Edited On 02.06.06

Drunken Viking
February 6th 2006


1023 Comments


He did listen to the album and he didn't like it, face it you favorite band isn't liked by everyone. I'm sure there are tons of bands that you don't like that have amazing musicianship and great diversity. Posted twice because of the length of posts can only be a certain amount.

Shadows
Moderator
February 6th 2006


2530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

[QUOTE=inflames666]If you don't like the music, then don't bother to review it. It just discourages people who are actually into this style of music. This is a very good album and i personally think that Randy has a good voice. And there is no way that you can say it all sounds the same because that is very close minded and ignorant. This album is very diverse and dynamic at the same time as being aggressive. When I see someone like you review something and totally disregard taste and musical experience, it makes me sick. Make sure before you do a review, you listen to what you're reviewing.[/QUOTE]
Aaaaaaawwwwwww, can't we just be friends?

Apparently you've never been introduced to a words called "opinion". If you had, you'd realize that not everyone views things the same way, and you'd understand how your point was bullshit.

TheRaspberryJams
February 12th 2006


17 Comments


I personally love LoG, there other albums are way better!
this was alright nonetheless

Royd Rage
February 14th 2006


419 Comments


this is the only one i've heard by them...

i love this album,it has grown on me...it really goes into everything about america,our troops,the war,goverment,etc... more so than most other metal bands have done,which shocks me. lamb of god seem willing to piss you off but that's only if you don't agree with them. i didn't think the production was so superclean as some have said but sometimes i don't pay attention to that stuff.

all in all i want to hear more new things from them,soon.

nobodyblossomsforever
February 14th 2006


63 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is okay, not the greatest.

Drunken Viking
February 16th 2006


1023 Comments


They didn't experiment with that, the Chugga-Chugga riffs are in every song.

GuitaristPaul
February 18th 2006


51 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah the production is pretty bad on the cd. However, when I went to see them live at sounds of the underground last year, they were totally amazing.

Thor
February 18th 2006


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I for one thought that the production on this album was amazing. The only problem is that the bass is turned down way too much.

Digging: Black Crown Initiate - The Wreckage of Stars

harrison06
February 19th 2006


2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Great peice of metal.

Drunken Viking
February 19th 2006


1023 Comments


This album has amazing production like Thor said, it's almost overproduced. But yeah about the bass, it's not very high in the mix.

Debauchery
February 19th 2006


3 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm not one to get hung up on production values, but when listening to this and New Ameircan Gospel, the difference is quite noticable. In my opinion, the lyrics are very well written, and for me that's a selling point. I don't care if I can understand them or not, but I'm the kind of guy who sits there with the CD book and reads along with the vocals. The fact that they've put their thoughts and emotions into what they're writing gives it a deeper meaning. I don't mean to say that other bands don't do that, but it's about real life problems and it hits home for me (I've lost family from the situation in Iraq) and I find that I can totally agree with the attitude being expressed.

This album doesn't top As The Palaces Burn, but it definitely stands out in my mind. Some of the songs do sound alot alike, and the chug pattern does get a bit old after hearing it alot, but that's why CD players with the "Shuffle" function were created. This Album is probably a 3/5, not something I'd listen to every day but definitely worth it after a long day at work once in awhile.

Drunken Viking
February 19th 2006


1023 Comments


Nice first post. I totally agree with you, and sorry about your family.

EngagingDarkness
February 19th 2006


7 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I love LoG's drummer hence being a long time LoG fan i find that they are kinda repetitive thats why they have 3-4 good songs on each cd..i own all of them examples would be like...that and i do like chuga-chuga stuff because im a big headbanger and thats when everyone usualy goes together because fast parts of the song end up in pits. examples of my favorite songs would be..from last cd to newst

-=New American Gospel=-
Black Label
The Subtile Art Of Murder
Confessional - love be begging drum solo

-=As The Palaces Burn=-
Ruin
As The Palaces Burn
11th Hour - All time favorite LoG Song
A Devil In Gods Country - Once Again Kick As Drums
Blood Junkie

-=Ashes Of The Wake=-
Laid To Rest
Now You'v Got Something To Die For
The Faded Line
Omerta - Its A friendship thing, because its true and i can play it
One Gun
What I'v Become
Ashes Of The Wake

Over all i'd rate this band like..4/5 that and there kick ass live you dont find very metal bands that sound good live LoG would be rated great live, in other words SLipknot sounds nothing like there cd does live kinda giving falce music then if you look at like CoB = The all time best sounding band live ever i have seen them 3 times and they are amazeing.

And hence being a gigantic metal fan and being on Roadrunner records street team i find a very wide varity of metal. LoG is so differant because mainly they showed off Slipknot they got more ratings from the tour with them then slipknot did. just because of there intermission solos - just like CoB's intermission gutair vs. Keyboard battles.






You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy