Vital Remains Icons of Evil
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
CoRpSeSlAyEr
November 29th 2007


855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

VR can get pretty boring at times.

diefamous
December 3rd 2007


281 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll agree but just because there are a few tracks on here that are so boring I have to skip them doesn't mean this is a boring band. Dechristianize is much tollerable to listen all the way through.

Hawks
March 11th 2008


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album would be so much better if the songs werent so damn long. I could understand if the songs were long for the atmosphere, but these songs are just brutal the whole way through. I like brutal music just as much as the next guy, but most of the time the really brutal songs are in between like 2 and 5 minutes when these are like 6-9.

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales

Hawks
April 6th 2008


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A little to long for a Death Metal album, but its still really good. Glen Benton is a great vocalist. I like his work with this band more than his work with Deicide. This Message Edited On 04.06.08

masscows
April 6th 2008


2236 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I think this album kinda sucks. The sound is really one-dimensional and the songs are way too long for what they are. If you cut all of these songs in half, it'd be a 4/5 easily.

Hawks
April 6th 2008


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah i agree with you 100% that they're too long, but i still think the album rules. Benton is an insane vocalist. Probably one of the best in Death Metal.

masscows
April 6th 2008


2236 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I like him but I wouldn't consider his vocal work to be particularly excellent. His delivery is very solid and consistent though.

Hawks
April 6th 2008


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think that he should just focus on this band because this band is much better than Deicide IMO. Except for The Stench Of Redemption, that album is great.

masscows
April 6th 2008


2236 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Glen Benton doesn't do anything in Vital Remains aside from vocals. He doesn't even write the lyrics.

Hawks
April 6th 2008


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well he should start doing some of that shit lol. I still think this band is better than Deicide.

masscows
April 19th 2008


2236 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm gonna have to listen to this more, after listening to it for the first time in a while I'm liking it more.

Hawks
April 19th 2008


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It would be even better if it wasnt as long.

masscows
April 19th 2008


2236 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah, that's the problem with everything they've done since Forever Underground: the songs are too fucking long. Tony Lazaro just doesn't know when to stop putting in refrains lol.

Hawks
April 19th 2008


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Lol. There is really not reason for any Death Metal album to be this long. And this is more on the brutal side of Death Metal. I could only imagine how boring this genre would be if every band had songs this long. A 9 minute Brutal Death Metal song would never be necessary lol.

beans
July 31st 2008


2332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the long songs dont bother me one bit

myhigherpie
October 23rd 2008


3027 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

maybe its just because I love long fucking songs and epicness and brutality mixed with melody and anti christian themes but I love this album... a lot.

No one complains about opeths long ass songs lol. Maybe I am just the only one that cant wait to get to that one song thats 10 minutes long on an album full of 3 minute songs...

good album.

glenns vocals could be improved though... much.

myhigherpie
October 23rd 2008


3027 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I honestly think the length adds to the music in my opinion. The songs are so brutal that you dont really notice it.

these guys know how to be brutal, but I love their melodic leads so much. I might give dechristianize a five with a few more listens.

Hawks
October 23rd 2008


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No one complains about opeths long *** songs lol.

Thats because its not 10 minutes of straight brutal death metal.

beans
October 23rd 2008


2332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is true

Anthracks
March 19th 2009


3740 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

its not necessarily that the songs are too long, but the album definitely is

im gonna take off at least .5 from however much I enjoy this due to it's length and how much of a chore it is to sit through the whole thing

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy