Modest Mouse We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
natey
March 10th 2008


4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol

LordGreekFolder
March 28th 2008


7 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Is it just me or does it seem as if Modest Mouse has reduced their unique sound, their talent, and their passion to what is in many's opinion, utter rubbish? Good News was decent, The Moon and Antarctica was pretty good, and I can even find myself enjoying the first track on this album. But am I alone in thinking that this band is falling, and has nearly bottomed out?

Kevwa451
July 8th 2008


16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I bought this after I bought "Good news.." and before "This is a long drive" and realized how good news strayed from MM's older stuff and how this sorta brought them back around, though steam engenious and a few others are real annoying the album isnt their worst and its not their best but it deffinately doesnt suck, good review though

Fapper
July 11th 2008


649 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review. I have to admit I really like this album. Some songs like "We've got Everything" and "Missed the Boat" are terrific all the way through, but I can find some enjoyment in all of their songs.

Anthracks
September 1st 2008


3742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Naysayers are crazy, this album is great.

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

mothergoose
March 31st 2009


308 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The summary is silly - you're assuming every reader has the same opinion of the band by default. Otherwise the review isn't too terrible.

Bleak
March 31st 2009


258 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The first half of the awesome is pretty great....second half not so much.

lwatkins
April 3rd 2009


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

poorly written review. if you are describing a song, dont just say you don't like it, give us details, and don't be so narrow-minded.
Little Motel is a superb song; evoking great emotion and feeling. That'd why this album is good: because it is more emotive and
multi-dimentional.

I dont see how people can call this album boring. If you want just 2 guitars, drums and bass playing 4 chords over again then
listen to something else!

How can people say the second half of the album is bad. Invisible, Spitting Venom, People as Placed as People etc etc. Come on!This Message Edited On 04.03.09

PuddleSwimmer
April 3rd 2009


1457 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^ what he said

XtheComb1neX
May 20th 2009


61 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

spitting venom would have made a better ending to the cd. With the horn ensemble at the end of the song, would've been truly epic.

cirq
July 6th 2009


9264 Comments


Even as I left florida, far enough, far enough, wasn't far enough

shade
July 6th 2009


1198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

*riffs*

Rberto
August 23rd 2009


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dashboards the most infectious song on the album. Little Motel stood out the most for me but ...

PuddlesPuddles
October 29th 2009


4772 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bumped to 4.5. This hits me more effectively than most of the other albums.

WatchItExplode
January 16th 2010


3243 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

bzzzzzzz.......buuuuzzzzzzzzz....I like Fly Trapped In A Jar.

focksy
March 20th 2010


437 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

everything that's wrong with this cd i just blame on marr and mercer and i feel better

mmfarva
March 20th 2010


1352 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

This has some great songs, but it's missing that "it" quality. No idea what "it" is, but it's not here.

focksy
April 1st 2010


437 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yes it is fag

does anyone here have the deluxe edition?

Jips
April 15th 2010


1129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

dat Mutha Fuka Stoled' mah Carbon...it musta been mo' Fukin' Magik...

thats if ICP wrote parting of the sensory...

sorry its late...

Steoandnoodles
April 10th 2011


2832 Comments


I thought this was an excellent album. =)
Hopefully their next full LP is a step up from this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy