Opeth Damnation
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ChoccyPhilly
July 3rd 2014


10580 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, I read the diary logs about it and apparently they were at the point of breaking up.

Digging: Entheos - Ototeman

Mythodea
July 3rd 2014


2636 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

''Yeah, I read the diary logs about it and apparently they were at the point of breaking up.''



Really??



Digging: Massacre (NY) - Killing Time

Totengott
July 3rd 2014


3246 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I didn't know that, glad they didn't break up.

Digging: Swans - The Seer

ChoccyPhilly
July 3rd 2014


10580 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

http://www.opeth.com/home/deliverance-diary



They're all really interesting reads.

ChoccyPhilly
July 3rd 2014


10580 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Literally every day something happened that made us feel like we have to stop. Just go home and forget about these records and Opeth. I wanted to cry several times! This is my life and I saw it crumbling to dust. And it was my fault since I choose the studio and just how we're supposed to do this."

Mythodea
July 3rd 2014


2636 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck, man! Do you want me to have a heart attack? I thought you were talking about Heritage! Yeah, I knew they were about to stop. Things were totally messed up. He says he used to stay up all night to compose and then rehearse in the morning...

ChoccyPhilly
July 3rd 2014


10580 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No, and gladfully no. I'm hoping we'll get another 3 albums at least before they call it quits. However, their musical direction is pretty damn exciting in my opinion, even if i don't like what it produces

Mythodea
July 3rd 2014


2636 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The thing with Opeth is that they're consistent as hell. They're around for 20 years and there's not one album that no one will like, at least a bit. Even Deliverance is fun sometimes.



They do whatever pleases them. Once they were black/folk metal. (first 2 albums), then death metal up till Damnation and after that they had already created their own significant sound. Now prog rock. Inspiration is a friend of theirs.

ChoccyPhilly
July 3rd 2014


10580 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And that's exactly what I wish Dream Theater would do! It's pleasing that Mikael does what he wants

ChoccyPhilly
July 3rd 2014


10580 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"there's not one album that no one will like"



You might not, but others love it. I'm not one of those people sadly. 2.5 for me

Mythodea
July 3rd 2014


2636 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not even one song? The question goes to both of you.

ChoccyPhilly
July 3rd 2014


10580 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The Devil's Orchard had a really strong first 2/3rds, but then the rest of the song completely ruins it for me. Other than that, every track sounds bland, uninteresting or just boring.

Mythodea
July 3rd 2014


2636 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

''no every song on heritage sounds exactly the same''



Either you've heard it only once, or you've got to wash your ears.



Green Baron
July 3rd 2014


22048 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh god

Mythodea
July 3rd 2014


2636 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

okay fucktard.

Mythodea
July 3rd 2014


2636 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

About ''fucktard''? Yes. About Heritage? No.

Betray
July 3rd 2014


6460 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

just finished heritage



2nd best opeth imo

ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
July 3rd 2014


4386 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album.

Mythodea
July 3rd 2014


2636 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Betray



Quit ''besting'' Opeth albums. Heritage of course isn't second best.

Betray
July 3rd 2014


6460 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

oh sorry edited 4 u



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy