Death Scream Bloody Gore
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Necrotica
July 9th 2014


10063 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3 | Sound Off

and Cynic of course

MalleusMaleficarum
July 9th 2014


14369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Atheist is a very rare case. How many tech bands are able to pull it off the way they did? I cant remember hearing anything else that combined tech and raw elements so well

TalonsOfFire
July 9th 2014


9104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is one of the first death metal albums, so I equate it with some of the first black metal albums: shitty production with stripped down genre basics to set the style down for future bands (and themselves) to expand on

Digging: Bloodbath - Grand Morbid Funeral

demigod!
July 9th 2014


45005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cryptopsy perfected that style i think, they mesh raw brutality and horror with technical prowess so fucking well

or they did anyway. none so vile ftw.i still like atheist and later era death, but when it comes to technically impressive dm none so vile is the best there ever was

Digging: Autechre - LP5

Necrotica
July 9th 2014


10063 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3 | Sound Off

But Bathory pioneered black metal so much better than how this pioneered death metal

demigod!
July 9th 2014


45005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

id put this on the same level as bathory's debut

MalleusMaleficarum
July 9th 2014


14369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fair enough, NSV rips pretty hard, i dont think i'd put it above PoT or UP though cuz i love those albs.

KILL
July 9th 2014


72090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Atheist is a very rare case. How many tech bands are able to pull it off the way they did? I cant remember hearing anything else that combined tech and raw elements so well

why not human? its not as intense as UP for example but i think they hit the perfect mix of complex rhythms/time sigs and all that bollocks while still retaining some of the rawness of their earlier albums. TSoP is where they went too far in one direction

Digging: Steve Hackett - Out of the Tunnel's Mouth

Necrotica
July 9th 2014


10063 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3 | Sound Off

Unquestionable Presence is god-tier when it comes to metal, regardless of subgenre :]

Necrotica
July 9th 2014


10063 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3 | Sound Off

And so is Human

demigod!
July 9th 2014


45005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hard to even pin atheist under one subgenre tbh they're just so dang unique

KILL
July 9th 2014


72090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

also bands like necrophagist need to learn about moderation, i know all the kids dig the constant sweeps and hyper compressed drums but to true rockers like me its just a bunch of old tat, those bands also have no bottom end either as they are always up the top of the fretboard like twats

Necrotica
July 9th 2014


10063 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3 | Sound Off

I'd agree when it comes to Epitaph, but I always loved Onset because I thought the "wank" actually slipped into the compositions perfectly. It felt more necessary than flashy

MalleusMaleficarum
July 9th 2014


14369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@KILL; yeah thats exactly the kind of metal i dislike

evilford
July 9th 2014


22934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"those bands also have no bottom end either as they are always up the top of the fretboard like twats"


lol. touche

need that bottom end. less dweedle

beefshoes
August 3rd 2014


4314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Such a fun album.

Digging: Ne Obliviscaris - Citadel

Hawks
August 3rd 2014


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah this fuckin slays. Love the title track and Zombie Ritual so much.

evilford
August 3rd 2014


22934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wow. never noticed necro gave this a 2.3

Hawks
August 3rd 2014


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Me neither wtf is going on here?

elcrawfodor
August 3rd 2014


387 Comments


Maybe it'll be like Symbolic - make him write a review and a month or two later his rating will go up.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy