Death Scream Bloody Gore
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TalonsOfFire
July 9th 2014



6104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

All the instruments sound pretty shitty tbh, to me that kind of works with the jokey exaggerated lyrics and songwriting. It's obnoxious and unapologetic and predicable, but then again I dig those shitty sounding black metal albums from the 80's so who knows

Digging: Arcade Fire - Reflektor

MalleusMaleficarum
July 9th 2014



14244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this just in: the sound of a drumset can negate the most influential vox / songwriting in dm and turn the album into a poor album

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

MalleusMaleficarum
July 9th 2014



14244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

EVUUUUUUUHHHHHLLLLLLLLLLL

DED








EEVUUUUUUUUUAAAUUUUHHHHHLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

DED

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
July 9th 2014



9820 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3 | Sound Off

But remember how I said "some" nicely written riffs? Many of the riffs are painfully boring as well

TalonsOfFire
July 9th 2014



6104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is certainly their least technical but among their most enjoyable

KILL
July 9th 2014



71087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It sounds so clangorous

fuckin staff

Digging: David Axelrod - Song of Innocence

MalleusMaleficarum
July 9th 2014



14244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

DM is best when its absent of all the tech bullshit

demigod!
July 9th 2014



44062 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

im all about that primal disgust too

Digging: Failure - Magnified

MalleusMaleficarum
July 9th 2014



14244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

its not supposed to be a flashy/glossy genre

MalleusMaleficarum
July 9th 2014



14244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

primal disgust [2]

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
July 9th 2014



9820 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3 | Sound Off

I gave Onset of Putrefaction a 5/5 so that probably says a lot. Then again, I also gave Pleasure to Kill a 5 so the overall situation's a bit interesting

KILL
July 9th 2014



71087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

DM is best when its absent of all the tech bullshit

eh depends, a lot of modern tech death bands are just constantly full throttle necrophagist type bullshit but dudes like atheist and later death realised the importance of dynamics and used technicality to push the genre even further

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
July 9th 2014



9820 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3 | Sound Off

and Cynic of course

MalleusMaleficarum
July 9th 2014



14244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Atheist is a very rare case. How many tech bands are able to pull it off the way they did? I cant remember hearing anything else that combined tech and raw elements so well

TalonsOfFire
July 9th 2014



6104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is one of the first death metal albums, so I equate it with some of the first black metal albums: shitty production with stripped down genre basics to set the style down for future bands (and themselves) to expand on

demigod!
July 9th 2014



44062 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cryptopsy perfected that style i think, they mesh raw brutality and horror with technical prowess so fucking well

or they did anyway. none so vile ftw.i still like atheist and later era death, but when it comes to technically impressive dm none so vile is the best there ever was

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
July 9th 2014



9820 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3 | Sound Off

But Bathory pioneered black metal so much better than how this pioneered death metal

demigod!
July 9th 2014



44062 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

id put this on the same level as bathory's debut

MalleusMaleficarum
July 9th 2014



14244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fair enough, NSV rips pretty hard, i dont think i'd put it above PoT or UP though cuz i love those albs.

KILL
July 9th 2014



71087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Atheist is a very rare case. How many tech bands are able to pull it off the way they did? I cant remember hearing anything else that combined tech and raw elements so well

why not human? its not as intense as UP for example but i think they hit the perfect mix of complex rhythms/time sigs and all that bollocks while still retaining some of the rawness of their earlier albums. TSoP is where they went too far in one direction



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy