Death Individual Thought Patterns
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
apert
February 13th 2013



2919 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i don't even consider symbolic DM tbh, there are only a few DM riffs on the album, still a 5 for me but i just see it as a prog metal album in the same way i don't think Opeth is DM either.

this is their last dm album for me

demigod!
February 13th 2013



40987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i'm one of those guys who thinks Death got technically better and more genre-bending with each album, so i have to agree with Nerco for the most part here really

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2013



7922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

@evilford: Ah, I see what you mean then. Yeah, in that way, Symbolic is probably the most progressive, although I think
there's at least a slim argument that Human was even more progressive in that sense because it was the first to fully
implement the elements of the band's then-new direction

ViperAces
February 13th 2013



12358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Death got technically better and more genre-bending with each album"
this is fact, but tsop was a step over the edge

demigod!
February 13th 2013



40987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i haven't heard this one in way too long. need to change that

evilford
February 13th 2013



20024 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think they definitely became more genre-bending with each album, I just love Symbolic :DDDDD I think the finished product is more significant to me. it speaks to me. not that TSoP doesn't...

also, it seems these days like hardly anyone has much love for symbolic. most users I see posting in a death thread see other albums as being Death's best and Symbolic as being overrated

apert
February 13th 2013



2919 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

symbolic is seen as their best by most so some people just want to voice a contrasting opinion, buts its rated 4.5 wouldn't say hardly anyone has much love for it

demigod!
February 13th 2013



40987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i don't think it's overrated, it definitely deserves all the hype it gets

i just think Human and mayyybe ITP are better albums

apert
February 13th 2013



2919 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

definitely Human, but not ITP

evilford
February 13th 2013



20024 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Necro - very true, Human was a huge step for metal altogether, probably more significant than symbolic. which is partly why I think after this album, to step away from that style into a style like Symbolic was more risky for them. some people liked it more, some people like it less, yeah it's all opinions. I just like the album overall more than anything personally. happens to be probably my fav album ever (in a 3 way tie prob)

Dodecahedron
February 13th 2013



970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Symbolic is easily my favorite Death album

evilford
February 13th 2013



20024 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sweet me too!!!!!!1

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2013



7922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

What did I miss?

evilford
February 13th 2013



20024 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

see last pg

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2013



7922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

Ah, not too much

evilford
February 13th 2013



20024 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

we had a good intelligent conversation going and then you never responded :[

demigod!
February 13th 2013



40987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The philosopher is such a perfect song

Dodecahedron
February 13th 2013



970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Spiritual Healing is the most perfect Death song to my ears.

evilford
February 13th 2013



20024 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hard to pick just one but would prob pick perennial quest

or symbolic title track

Dodecahedron
February 13th 2013



970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That heavy riff along with the line "Practice what you preach" is just too amazing



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy