Swallow the Sun Hope
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BallsToTheWall
September 17th 2008


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The Morning Never Came was slightly better but STS doesn't really satisfy my doom craving.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

lucazade22
September 17th 2008


532 Comments


balls...agree totally with how it doesn't really have very good lasting power. Haven't listened to this in ages...a bit too boring. "The Empty skies" still deserves a listen from time to time though :P

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2008


16478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Amazingggg album.

Wizard
September 29th 2008


19644 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm absolutely torn with this album. Its good but I think it needs a few more listens.

Digging: Ash Borer - Cold of Ages

fireaboveicebelow
September 29th 2008


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the fall is coming, good timing

BallsToTheWall
September 29th 2008


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'd take Hanging Graden over these guys, ick, what a dissapointign album. Ona brighter note, the video and song for Don't Fall Asleep is pretty tight. As for Fall music, i got my trusty Insomnium, Agalloch, and Drudkh by my side.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2008


17231 Comments


balls, that dissapoints me.

fireaboveicebelow
September 29th 2008


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

balls, did you ever check out The Foreshadowing?

BallsToTheWall
September 29th 2008


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I heard them when Jrowa reccomended them to me unfortunately I forget what they sounded like. I will re-investigate. Also members of The Foreshadowing are in like a post rock kind of band called Kilmt1918 that happens to be mean. For good doom check out Ereb Altor.

fireaboveicebelow
September 29th 2008


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've got ereb altor. I'll look up that post rock band for sure though. and just for brownie points if you want, there's a band called How Like A Winter with the singer from The Foreshadowing, they're like shakespearian gothic/doom band

Wizard
September 29th 2008


19644 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

the fall is coming, good timing

Is this a good seasonal album? It's not as dark and depressing as people make it out to be if thats the case.

fireaboveicebelow
September 29th 2008


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

as with most doom, that depends on the person

Wizard
September 29th 2008


19644 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ahhhhhh I see. Kind of like how I love my black metal in the middle of February. Also, thanks for the doom rec's on one of rasputin's reviews.

fireaboveicebelow
September 29th 2008


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no problem, later on I can go more in depth once you get a few bands you dig

Wizard
September 29th 2008


19644 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Its taking me bloody forever to get used to the Doom sound. Slow music = slow progression I guess hahaha. Thanks you again!

Yazz_Flute
October 22nd 2008


18875 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is pretty great, but The Morning Never Came is definitely better. These guys write some of the most depressing riffs ever....especially the one in "Through Her Silvery Body." Any of doom metal bands similar to these guys? I haven't heard much of the genre but StS have been the only band i've really loved.

Digging: DIR EN GREY - Arche

fireaboveicebelow
October 22nd 2008


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I havent found anyone too similar actually, the closest I can think of is Draconian, but you might like October Tide's Rain Without End. hmmm, the new Mournful Gust album is kinda similar

oh, you can check out How Like A Winter, Anathema - Serenades, and even 3rd and the Mortal - Tears Laid In EarthThis Message Edited On 10.22.08

AngelPhoenix
October 23rd 2008


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

These guys write some of the most depressing riffs ever

Not a chance.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2008


16478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bodom- Check out "Inherit The Eden" by Hanging Garden... fucking amazing stuff.This Message Edited On 10.22.08

fireaboveicebelow
October 23rd 2008


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not a chance.
nah, I pretty much agree with him

Hanging Garden is great, get them too plus my other rec's on the last page

you might as well just check this site:
http://www.metalfromfinland.com/
This Message Edited On 10.23.08



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy