Dir En Grey The Marrow of a Bone
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DrGonzo1937
September 29th 2013


11722 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is their most generic imo. But it's a stepping stone that leads to the fucking phenomenal Uroboros.

skullkrusher097
September 29th 2013


74 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Uroboros might be my favorite album by them, it's just so consistent all the way through. And Vinushka is one HELL of an opener and then red soil then glass skin then reiketsu then bugaboo then gaika omfg i'm done

skullkrusher097
September 29th 2013


74 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

OH AND INCONVENIENT IDEAL TOO THAT CHORUS OMG VOCAL HARMONIES

DrGonzo1937
September 30th 2013


11722 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, it's definitely their finest hour.

kalaudia
December 6th 2013


3 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not their best LP, because their best is Uroboros. Ryoujoku no Ame, The Pledge, Namamekashiki Ansoku, & Conceived Sorrow are my faves of this LP.

DrGonzo1937
December 6th 2013


11722 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed.

CalculatingInfinity
July 23rd 2015


5482 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Lose my shit on Lie Buried With a Vengeance every time, so loud and meatheaded for Diru.

DrGonzo1937
July 24th 2015


11722 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I always feel like this album is trying to be something other than who they are.

CalculatingInfinity
July 24th 2015


5482 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That's because it's basically that. It's them pulling their ideas together after the Family Values touring and wanting to cater to a western audience.

Jasdevi087
July 24th 2015


3145 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

You can almost smell the Korn on this one

Aberf
March 30th 2016


170 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Dir En Grey is trying too hard with this one.

Digging: Circa Survive - Descensus

CalculatingInfinity
March 31st 2016


5482 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'd say more underdeveloped than tryhard.

EvoHavok
March 31st 2016


5480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The soft songs and some of the pissed off ones are so good, though. Has inconsistencies, but it is really not that bad. Gonzo's review is spot on.

Digging: Dir En Grey - Arche at Nippon Budokan

CaptainAaarrrggghhh
March 31st 2016


348 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A bit monotone in it's own anger and some of the brutal cuts pass in an undistinguishable blur but the stuff that works really works.

I actually am quite a fan of "Repetition Of Hatred". Something about that intro, even though it's basically a generic breakdown is just so visceral and primal, it makes your guts move (in a good way). And the quiet|loud dynamic between verses and choruses, as well as this weird atonal ascencion towards the end are all pretty sweet additions.

EvoHavok
March 31st 2016


5480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, my fav track after Namamekashiki...

CalculatingInfinity
March 31st 2016


5482 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"I actually am quite a fan of "Repetition Of Hatred". Something about that intro, even though it's basically a generic breakdown is just so visceral and primal"



This so hard, also alot of songs from here rule so hard live.

Angelboros
March 31st 2016


1269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Disabled Complexes will never not be a favorite of mine on this album. Seriously, that song just grooves for days.

CalculatingInfinity
March 31st 2016


5482 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not a fan on studio but live it rips.

Angelboros
March 31st 2016


1269 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Both variants go hard, tbh. I may be partial towards the live rendition, but in the context of this album, I wouldn't hesitate to say that the song's a standout for me.

EvoHavok
March 31st 2016


5480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It definitely is. Live it's another story even for the weakest tracks on the album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy