Bloc Party A Weekend in the City
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Captain North
February 5th 2013



6779 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't think it's quite as cohesive as this, but yeah there are some amazing tracks. I really think they could have put England or Rhododendrons on this instead of On or Where is Home

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2013



49807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Rhonoendrons is probably in my top 5
On is one of the best dude
YOU MAKE MY TONGUE LOOSE
I AM HOPEFUL AND STUTTER FREE

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

Captain North
February 5th 2013



6779 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

On is easily my least favourite on this. That may be cos of placing more than anything, being a slow track in between two superior slow tracks, especially kreuzberg.

AFTER SEX, THE BITTER TASTE....BEEN FOOLED AGAIN

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2013



49807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Fuck I love that part so much
Yeah this album has a bit of a pacing problem

tommygun
February 5th 2013



23630 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

rhododendrons is so good yeah

we were lovers rules too

agreed that another w/e is not really cohesive but damn there are some outstanding tracks

man that was a fun time in early 07 treasure hunting all over the internet for all the extra songs

Digging: Obliteration - Black Death Horizon

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2013



49807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

limewire days

Captain North
February 5th 2013



6779 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Oh man, lime wire. Do you remember how there was that one "petite Asian" porn link that was at the top of EVERY search?

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2013



49807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

lol yeah

Captain North
February 5th 2013



6779 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I got so many fucking viruses from limewire, and the songs were rarely what they claimed to be

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2013



49807 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Sifting through fake songs and like 90kps songs was such a bitch
There was a huge huge archive of songs that weren't Weird Al songs but were under Weird Al
Same with Reel Big Fish not covers

bloc
February 5th 2013



34679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was more of a Kazaa Lite kind of guy

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

TREO5
October 9th 2013



1068 Comments


Truth serum and limbs that won't listen
Drunken "I love yous", on top of the world

And when it runs out
We're chasing something we'll never catch
And when it runs out
We buy more

amphetamines and pseudo-amphetamines?

tommygun
October 9th 2013



23630 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

silver slugs lined up like bullets

roll the twenties

they disappear

TREO5
October 10th 2013



1068 Comments


I am on.

Switched on.

tommygun
October 10th 2013



23630 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

beast album

MeatSalad
October 10th 2013



14195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

doesnt touch silent alarm though :[

Digging: Love - Forever Changes

TREO5
October 10th 2013



1068 Comments


Silent Alarm, Intimacy and this are all "5"'s for me even though I don't really try to rate albums numerically anymore. But I personally feel that all three of those pretty much guarantee a full listen through every time I turn them on, and to me that is what makes an album great.

It also helps that each of these three albums have a distinct and natural "feel" to them. I like Four, but it feels much more forced than these three albums do.

If we get up now,
we can catch the afternoon.
Watch the under 15's playing football in the park.
Let's sleep in St. Leonard's on this alcoholic day.
We are doing the best with what we've got.

MeatSalad
October 10th 2013



14195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

giiiive meeee moooooments

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
November 6th 2013



21587 Comments


is there any track better than Flux

i'm gonna hazard a guess and say you're gonna say yeah with all those high ratings


doubt it though

Digging: Septicflesh - Communion

bloc
November 6th 2013



34679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dunno about that, but I will say there is no other song that sounds like Flux.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy