Dream Theater Live at Budokan
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
scenesfromatheater
December 28th 2005



11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not DT's best live works, and some of Labrie's worst live vocals IMO but still, this is a good live album. A good range of DT's works in this set. Shame it doesn't have commentary on the DVD.

Passmind
February 4th 2006



15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Its a good review, but what were you trying to review? The DVD or the CD? cuz the CD its a 3 list Disc...cuz in the cd you cant obviously see if Myung and Petrucci move or not. Besides, as long as they play great music, i dont care if they move as The Motley Crue.

swmmng
March 19th 2006



2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

After being introduced to DT by a friend who had the "Scenes From a Memory" album, I bought this album and the DVD and was totally blown away. I think it has a fairly representative collection of their work, and the actual performance is amazing.

In addition, I wouldn't really say that Petrucci is a statue - I'd say he moved around a fair amount, and certainly made some funny faces. He's not as animated as Rudess or Portnoy, but far from a statue. Myung, on the other hand, ...yeah. Pretty still, except for tossing his hair out of the way.

And on the topic of hair, I personally think Rudess and Petrucci look way better without the long hair - time to get out of the 80s, guys. The shaved-ness... meh, it doesn't really bother me.

The Forgotten Bassist
March 19th 2006



11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think this is a great album, the only thing that lets it down is the vocals, La Brie loses it at bits (ie a lisp appears now and then in Hollow Years)

Catula
April 17th 2006



21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Been a Dream Theater fan for a long while now, I am going crazy on this CD since I got it for Christmas.

I wish Petrucci would move more..

Catula
June 10th 2006



21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Alright, later to think on this

I adore this album. I got the DVD, Petrucci and Myung move enough for my liking, just understand it's hard to go shredding as crazily as those two do and not moving is understandable.

I find it all good, although I am supporting Rudess' hair shaving, he looks a lot better without the curling girl end hair =/

I know, rough, but true.

Storm In A Teacup
June 10th 2006



12688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this so much. I have both the CD and DVD.
I think it's funny that two or three times Petrucci, Myung, etc. have to play twenty-minute instrumentals so LaBrie can go backstage and memorize two or three songs worth of lyrics. He is seriously a horrid musician.

Catula
June 10th 2006



21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Am I the only one that noticed Portnoy and Myung barely went off lyrics? On occasion

Labrie lost himself Hahahaha

Storm In A Teacup
June 10th 2006



12688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They need to drop him and get a better singer. Akerfeldt would be great as his replacement, but I can only dream.

eug008
June 22nd 2006



97 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty awsome DVD, love the extended solos in hollow years

SabianStinkfist
June 28th 2006



14 Comments


this is probably my favorite music dvd. something about playing in the Budokan. ive watched this one a lot. good review also.

Remial4
July 16th 2006



99 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"They need to drop him and get a better singer. Akerfeldt would be great as his replacement, but I can only dream."

But thats why they are called Dream Theater! (Acually thats totally off but its a good pun... ok it was cwp but w/e)
Good review and I knew there was something wrong with James's vocals.

Also, now LTE has TWO TONY LEVINS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ITS THE END OF THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Atica
November 17th 2006



42 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review man :thumb:
I love this live cd, but even more the DVD. Everyone plays so perfect, and the setlist is pretty cool, but I would liked them to perform The Glass Prison.

Altmer
March 11th 2007



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think James works fine as a singer for DT authentic material. It's when they start covering he gets to be absolutely horrible. >

FR33L0RD
October 2nd 2007



1458 Comments


I a DVD show addict, i need this one.

MediocreAtBest
February 7th 2008



1473 Comments


I used to have this DVD and it's great. I love when Mike gets someone from the audience to help with the drum solo.

ChaosTheory
September 13th 2008



102 Comments


I have the DVD of this..It is amazing. Better than Score in my opinion. I may just write a review of this eventually.

kygermo
February 14th 2009



994 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Prefer the cd. Its quite an epic set.

MindTrain
December 4th 2009



1093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This would have been perfect if they cut off around 30 minutes of obviously bad songs. James Labrie hits so many flat notes in this it's aggravating. It's always great when he stops singing.

Sound
May 15th 2010



3838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes, James isn't at his best here, yet somehow his vocals at this time managed to IMPROVE on Hollow Years and fit perfectly. A song which isn't really that spectacular on the studio release but here...That's another story. Definitely one of (if not the) the highlights here.




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy