Deftones Saturday Night Wrist
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
HighandDriving
February 6th 2008



3232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dig that.

Wizard
February 6th 2008



18793 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You had better hahahaha.
I'm just old school with this band. I still enjoy this album but it has a few 'really' weak tracks.
ie. Pink Cellphone, which is the most pointless song they have done to date, especially the circumscission part at the end. Fuck that was stupid.

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Sound
February 6th 2008



3838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

then fucking get the clean version! Goons

Wizard
February 6th 2008



18793 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Theres a clean version?
I wish they were a bit more consistent like they were back in the day. Some bands pull off diversity well. Some bands need a bit of work at that.

Sound
February 6th 2008



3838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes, but it's only Pink Cellphones with the buttfucks are censored and that last minute is cut off.

And by 'more consistent', do you mean they kinda lost it just because of the lackluster that is their selftitled? That's really the only bad album they have released IMO. I also can see why the oldschool fans/metalheads would dislike White Pony, which is an incredible album.

Wizard
February 6th 2008



18793 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And by 'more consistent', do you mean they kinda lost it just because of the lackluster that is their selftitled? That's really the only bad album they have released IMO. I also can see why the oldschool fans/metalheads would dislike White Pony, which is an incredible album.

Its weird that you mention that because I thought White Pony was their second best (and it wasn't that consistent now that I think about it....hypocrite much?) I enjoyed their s/t much more than this TBQH. I didn't really find that album to be too inconsitent or lackluster. This album, I felt was all over the place with their ideas. White Pony was kind of the same way, but I still found the experimentation to be a bit more enjoyable.


Sound
February 6th 2008



3838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha, I knew the second I metioned the selftitled it was one you rather enjoyed. I find it quite unfocused without any original melody. They tried to make a heavy album but it's just comes off too forced without any punch.

This would be how it ranks for me:

White Pony>SNW>AtF>Adrenaline>>>...>>>Selftitled

Wizard
February 6th 2008



18793 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha, I knew the second I metioned the selftitled it was one you rather enjoyed.

Great, I'm the guy everybody around here associates with liking the Deftones s/t hahahahahahaha.
I can definitely see why people think its unfocused and that it feels kind of forced. I just love the song Hexagram though. Gets stuck in my head!

ATF>White Pony>Adrenaline> and I'm thinking now that their s/t and SNW are tied due to the fact that they both have their ups and downs (and a few really memorable songs).

gasmaskman
February 6th 2008



1006 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cherry Waves and Hole in the Earth are soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good.

Sound
February 6th 2008



3838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Usually I hate to rank albums like this because it makes some look bad. That being said, the greatness of the Deftones' albums though in order is very close.

And yes, actually I enjoy Hexagram too

Wizard
February 6th 2008



18793 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed, its like trying to find a bad Tool or Opeth album (at least that feels like a good example to me). They are all good except some are alot better than others.

Mr. S4nch3z, I respect you opinion immensely because you put reasoning behind your pros/ cons. I don't usually see that around here. Most of the time its, "I like this album, its awesome" or "these guys sound bland"!

Sound
February 6th 2008



3838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you very much wizard, it's probably the least I can do for the music I enjoy. But it's right, mostly it's just "awesome", "sucks" etc. Missing some in-depth here sometimes.

Agreed, its like trying to find a bad Tool or Opeth album (at least that feels like a good example to me).

That's a really good example in fact :chug:


HighandDriving
February 6th 2008



3232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pink Cellphones is the back bone of this album, seriously.

skullcrusher149
February 6th 2008



560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

GOD I hope that was sarcasm...

ChaosInACan
April 9th 2008



241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I liked this more than White Pony.This Message Edited On 04.09.08

Chewie
April 17th 2008



4531 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i have a lot to say:

First off, Dfelon, congratulations for one of the best reviews on Sputnik. It's the reason I have Saturday Night Wrist, or White Pony, or Around The Fur, or Adrenaline. You nail everything so please know I respect you as a brutha.

This album is so fucking awesome, within the riffage and epicness, it has this awesome background, thanks to Delgado, that really sets the mood of the album. I'm listening to it right now, and i think it's my favorite album by them, or a complete tie with White Pony. I just have this image in my head, I want to write a book or short story on this scene i get in my head whenever I hear it.

Everything is in it's right place. You spoke of the bad tracks, Rapture, Mein and Pink Cellphone. Rapture is no worse or better then Korea or Elite off of White Pony. It's not bad. I'm hearing Mein right now, and it has great verses and the opening riff is very interesting, but the chorus brings it down.

Now with Pink Cellphone, really not a terrible song. It has this very interesting shtik to it, the lyrics do make sence, if you listen to it. Anne Hardy doesn't just talk about handjobs and hot karling for no reason. I'll agree that it completely disrupts the flow of the album, but it is cool if you accept it a bit.

Now the good tracks are fucking good. Deftones produce the best hardcore song I've ever heard, Rats! Rats! Rats! Cherry Waves is breathtaking, as is Xerces. Kimdracula just doesn't speak to me. Riviere is a perfect closer to such an epic album.

Now with comparisons, It's so god damn hard to place this ahead of White Pony, but this just speaks to me on a deeper level. It's not as frightening, more reflective. White Pony is more of a horrific nightmare, when you wake from it in a gasp, while Saturday Night Wrist is a type of dream where it shifts, from being painful, to soothing and happy, in a sadistic type of way. It speaks to me just a bit more. White Pony is a bit too focused on being frightening and suspenceful, this just is reflective and interesting.

Now to the others. I don't have s/t, Around The Fur is good, (Be Quiet And Drive is amazing) but overall its not quite as good. Adrenaline was immature and Deftones hadn't found themselves yet.

Now I await Eros, with incredible expectations.This Message Edited On 04.17.08

willfellmarsy
April 17th 2008



3844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

aw man Kimdracula is one of my faves...glad to see you getting into one of the most solid bands in the world.

toolaregods
April 18th 2008



3 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Can't Believe how much everyone loves this album. I HATE IT. Im a Huge Deftones fan and all of their other stuff is amazing. s/t not quite as awesome as the others but still good. I've been trying to make myself like this album but I just can't

Beware is a good track though

DDconjoined
April 18th 2008



326 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great review. I lov this album..but fucking uuuddgdghms select pusy shit song is a weak spot


Burn2Burn
May 19th 2008



2378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^^ the konami code song is the best off this cd, actually. Cherry waves is a close second. Great cd, can't wait to get the rest of their stuff soon.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy