Deftones Saturday Night Wrist
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
204409
Emeritus
August 18th 2007


3996 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

You even like "Pink Cellphones."

UncalledFor
August 26th 2007


100 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've just gotten this so I'll postpone my rating, but it sounds pretty damn good, Beware, Cherry waves and (especially) Rats! Rats! Rats! are my favorites so far, but that's bound to expand. Definitely some neat Team Sleep influences, too.
Maybe just a little overboard on the "harmonizing guitar" stuff sometimes. But Chino's vocals are better than ever!
I must say I also like Pink cellphone a lot, to me it's a very well constructed ambient song and that last minute is really funny for its absurdly twisted logic - I don't think it's meant to be profound at all.


Kiran
Emeritus
October 7th 2007


6002 Comments


I've had this for a while now but I've just actually listened to it in full. It's sooo good.

Aficionado
October 7th 2007


1027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I guess I'm one of the few who enjoys Riviere alot and the instrumental. Those two tracks are ZOMG.

Flyboy
November 1st 2007


395 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

One of their best albums. But aren't they all like that?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

This grew on me.

BallsToTheWall
November 1st 2007


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Huh, this grew on me after 1 or 2 listens. Probaly my favorite Deftone's work since Around The Fur.

raisethyfist
November 18th 2007


53 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not what I was expecting and not necessarily what I wanted but I still listen to it from time to time. I remember being really excited about the tones return and when I heard this I was shocked. It took me a LONG time and many listens to finally enjoy fully the depth of musical progression but it truly is an evolution of one of my favorite bands of all time.

The best of this album comes from: Hole In the Earth, Beware, and Combat.

Chewie
January 16th 2008


4533 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great writing in the review, i may just pick this up


HighandDriving
January 16th 2008


3288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Their musical progression hasn't gone that far since White Pony.
I didn't think these guys could make another album that could compete with White Pony and they did even if they came up abit short.
After 4-5ish album I feel most bands burn out but these guys are still going strong, lets hope their 6th is in the same caliber.
Pink Cellphones is an awesome track also.

Sound
January 16th 2008


3904 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ With or without the extra minute at the end? :D

I have faith that the guys come up with more of this kind of material. Would be nice with a progressive edge to it.

But kinda doubt they will achieve what they did on White Pony or this again.



This Message Edited On 01.16.08

skullcrusher149
February 2nd 2008


560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a really, really solid album for the Deftones. Easily one of their best. I actually like the Konami Code song the best TBH, it's so chill.

Aficionado
February 2nd 2008


1027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^my thoughts exactly. You should definitely check out Team Sleep if you like that stuff.

MoonlightBleeding
February 2nd 2008


452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Around the Fur was their best, but this is close.

Wizard
February 2nd 2008


19644 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Around the Fur is hands down their best album to date.

Digging: Ash Borer - Cold of Ages

skullcrusher149
February 4th 2008


560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hands down


Hmm, It's not "hands down" their best. it's definetly good, but all the works of this band (except Adrenaline which I have yet to purchase) are so solid. It's hard for me to find a "hands down" distinguishable winner. But for me, I guess the closest one to being hands down the best is White Pony.

Flyboy
February 4th 2008


395 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Around the Fur FTW!

SNW is a fucking great record too though. I love this band awful. This band is like sex in my ears.

skullcrusher149
February 4th 2008


560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cool.

HighandDriving
February 5th 2008


3288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Around the fur had some really weak tracks and is not the best Deftones album.

Wizard
February 6th 2008


19644 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I guess I grew up listening to ATF and hence why it appeals to me the most. It has some sentimental value!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy