Agalloch Pale Folklore
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
username345
February 19th 2009



594 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Pale Folklore > The Mantle > Ashes

BallsToTheWall
February 19th 2009



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's taken me quite some time to realize how pointless it is to post and debate the "best" Agalloch albums to date. Opinions vary but i'm still with Jingle.

fireaboveicebelow
February 19th 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they're all of equal quality depending on the season

jingledeath
February 19th 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Mantle stays fresh through out the year

Hawks
February 19th 2009



35315 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Pale Folklore > Ashes Against the Grain > The Mantle

Digging: Brutal Truth - Extreme Conditions Demand Extreme Responses

jingledeath
February 19th 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was wonderin when you would show up with that lol

Hawks
February 19th 2009



35315 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I had to do it lol.

pyogeniccortex
February 19th 2009



183 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

fu[font=2]c[/font]king awesome album

Eakflanderyof
February 19th 2009



2143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this album and it was my favorite of theirs, but the more I listen to Ashes the more I like it. So I'm not sure now.

Hawks
March 9th 2009



35315 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

God dammit this album is so great. Listening to it right now then listening to Ashes right after.

silkforcalde
April 3rd 2009



404 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think it's kind of offputting that this review doesn't cite what are clearly the two major influences for this album. Ulver - Bergtatt and Katatonia - Brave Murder Day. Latter Agalloch albums would bring in more influences such as Ennio Morricone, Godspeed You Black Emperor, and Sol Invictus to name the three biggest, but Pale Folklore is more pure in that it is almost strictly indebted to Bergtatt and Brave Murder Day. Take the sprawling, somewhat repetitive yet very catchy power of Brave Murder Day and mix it with the black metal meets folk pioneering of Bergtatt and there's Pale Folklore.

silkforcalde
April 3rd 2009



404 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also, Ashes Against the Grain == The Mantle > Pale Folklore for me

Dayvan Cowboy
April 12th 2009



63 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

all good if you're in the alps. lost. having to eat wolves. and your grandmother.

Essence
April 30th 2009



3583 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so I FINALLY listened to this
and
lol
that part at the start of song 2...
"I SAW THE NIGHTFALL IT CALLED TO ME LIKE A RIVER OF SHADOWS AND IT SANG TO ME WITH THE CRIES OF A THOUSAND RAVENS THAT BLACKENED THE SKY AS THEY TOOK FLIGHT AND SANK THE SOL"
I laughed so hard

Wizard
April 30th 2009



19296 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

But this is far better than their other 2 albums + EP's?

Digging: Downer - Downer

Essence
April 30th 2009



3583 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No, this is damn good, and I believe there is merit to what Dan said about the season you listen to the album in, but The Mantle is still my favorite

Wizard
April 30th 2009



19296 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Truth to Danny's comment. But on a cold rainy day like today, Pale Folklore rules the roost.

Essence
April 30th 2009



3583 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Except for that little part. I want to meet the band and ask them what the fuck was up with that.

SCREAM!
April 30th 2009



10020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ashes Of The Grain wins any time of the day. But this is a worthy second

Digging: Old Witch - Come Mourning Come

BallsToTheWall
April 30th 2009



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy