Isis In the Absence of Truth
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Syncratic
February 6th 2007


756 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, I'd say it was.

If you like Panopticon you'll love this.

wrathi
February 12th 2007


58 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm thinking about doing a review on this album. not because it needs one but because i feel like pointing out every awsome riff and beat and creating a discussion about the different riffs and licks. There are simply so many on this album for one person to recognize easily. what do you think syncratic? not like i could top your review but i think its a good idea to analyze all the riffs.

Syncratic
February 13th 2007


756 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

That may seem a little over-long to some, but I'm interested in seeing it, so if you want to, go for it...

Syncratic
February 17th 2007


756 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Wow, if only all reviews were like yours. Thanks a lot for taking the time
to put your feelings in to words. It was fun to read.

Take care and thanks for all the support.

ISIS


I kid you not, FROM THE FUCKING BAND!

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
February 17th 2007


17945 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sweet

Syncratic
February 17th 2007


756 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

It is, I'm positively giddy right now.

Syncratic
February 17th 2007


756 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Wow, I can't get over that ISIS liked my review.....

/faints...

cynikal
March 2nd 2007


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'll agree that this is a superb album but i still think panopticon is top knotch, probably my fav album of all time.. ..absence of truth definately has its moments but for sheer "epic-ness" as you put it, it doesn't quite get to the same level panopticon got..

this album may be technically superior (layering, textures, etc), but they don't quite make up for it on the emotional level for me.. anyway can't wait to see isis again (and the tour with tool is what introduced me to these guys, making me wonder where the hell have i have been.. )

wrathi
March 15th 2007


58 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I get to see these guys live on the 27th and then next week i get to see Pelican. Both shows should be fricken awsome. Somone says on last.fm.com that their set list was somthing like
So Did We, In Fiction, Grinning Mouths, 1000 Shards, Holy Tears, Dulciena and some others but from right there they hit most of the highlights, for me at least, from Panopticon and In the Absence of Truth. Should be a great show

Two-Headed Boy
March 15th 2007


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They're coming to Toronto with Jesu, I'm trying to get tickets.

Oh yeah and a ride and shelter and stuff.

Syncratic
March 15th 2007


756 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Good luck with that...

If you go take pics.

wrathi
March 16th 2007


58 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I did a review for this album on Amazon.com, you guys should check it out. Its the one that was done on the 16th of March.

trustxdialect
March 16th 2007


1502 Comments


I heard this the other day and liked a lot of what I heard. I might get this soon.

Intransit
July 20th 2007


2797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Neurosis is a much better version of this band.

joh soxe
July 20th 2007


44 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

damn good review, the paragraph on 1000 shards especially is excellent.

this album is in my opinion isis' best. their strength has always been being able to create moods with their music, and Absence literally makes you 'feel' more than perhaps any other album out there, incredible considering that there are so few lyrics, and even those are often cryptic. they truely make the music speak.

awesome that you got a message from the band as well, deserved.



Brain Dead
July 20th 2007


1150 Comments


[quote=Iluvatar]Isis is sort of like a boring version of Neurosis from what I've heard. Regardless, I do like the review and may check this album out again in the future. Nice work.[/quote]
People need to stop linking these two bands at the hip. They really are quite different. Neurosis focus more on soft/loud dynamics, and their riffs are doomed out and heavy as hell.
Isis don't really jump from soft to loud (from what I've heard), but instead maintain somewhat of a flowing intensity. They're not even close to as heavy either. I still like Neurosis a lot more, but Isis is by no means bad and definitely aren't a rip off of Neurosis.

Confessed2005
July 20th 2007


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That message from the band was well deserved man. Truly awesome review for an exceptional album.

SabertoothMonocle
July 18th 2012


493 Comments


pos'd

Ocean of Noise
August 24th 2012


568 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I honestly can't decide which ISIS album is my favourite. Oceanic, Panopticon and this one are all just so incredible, however flawed in their own ways. The first time I listened to this I had mixed feelings, because it's far from accessible. I wasn't finding that the music really clicked with me, but I felt the urge to listen to it again as soon as it was over. It's a bit more intriguing than the previous two, I find. Listened to it again today, and now it's definitely tied. The one fault that it has is the strange production.

Digging: The Smashing Pumpkins - Monuments to An Elegy

dnpnts
August 25th 2012


63 Comments


I'd probably say this album was their most accessible...

also, love the avgn display Sabertooth



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy